IND vs AUS: David Warner’s Availability For The First ODI Against India To Be Assessed – Reports

David Warner
David Warner (PC-Getty Images)

Australia will take on India in the first ODI of the three-match series at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Friday, March 17. The Australian team have injury concerns in their camp as the opening batter David Warner, who is recovering from his elbow injury, is unlikely to play in the series opener unless he proves his match fitness.

David Warner returned to India and joined the squad in Mumbai on Monday after missing the last two matches in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT) due to a hairline fracture in his elbow. The visitor managed to win the third match in Indore and draw the fourth match. The left-handed batter was forced to go back to his home for rehabilitation.

IPL 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score

David Warner’s Availability To Be Assessed

According to the Times of India report, David Warner needs to prove his fitness ahead of the series opener following his recovery from a fractured elbow. The veteran opener will be included in the playing XI only if he is able to “bat comfortably” in the nets.

After losing the Border Gavaskar Trophy by 2-1, Australia will look to finish the tour with a series victory against India. Steve Smith will lead the Australian side in the absence of Pat Cummins. The Australian skipper left the tour to take care of his mother Maria, who passed away from breast cancer last week.

Cummins has only led the team in two games at home in November against England since taking over the reins from Aaron Finch. The upcoming ODI series is crucial for both teams as they prepare for the upcoming ODI World Cup in India. Australia will be looking to gain experience in the conditions before the marquee event.

Squads For Three Match ODI series

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman GillVirat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, K L Rahul, Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya (vc), Ravindra Jadeja. Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra ChahalMohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Jaydev Unadkat

Australia: Steve Smith (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh. Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Also read: Suresh Raina Brutally Trolls Shahid Afridi As He Gives Huge Update On his Potential Return To IPL

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

Related Posts