India Test Squad vs Australia
India Test Squad vs Australia

Last Update on: January 13th, 2023 at 10:19 pm

The BCCI, on Friday, announced India’s Test squad for the Australia series which will decide the fate of the ICC World Test Championship final 2023. Rohit Sharma will be leading the side in the 4-match Test series which will commence on February 09.

While Australia are on top of the World Test Championship Points Table, team India sits at the 2nd spot followed by Sri Lanka and Soth Africa. The hosts will have to win 3 out of the 4 matches in the Border-Gavaskar trophy to qualify for the WTC final alongside the Aussies.

India vs Australia (Image Credits: Twitter)
(Image Credits: Twitter)

India Test Squad for Australia First 2 Tests Announced

India will also have to hope that New Zealand does well in the series against Sri Lanka and beats them by a margin of 2-0. New Zealand were the winner of the inaugural ICC World Test Championship tournament beating India in the final. However, they have fallen face-first in the second WTC cycle.

India Test Team - IND vs ENG
Photo Credit: (ICC)

India Test squad for Australia first 2 Tests:

India’s squad for first 2 Tests vs Australia: Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (vc), Shubman Gill, C Pujara, V Kohli, S Iyer, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Suryakumar Yadav

WTC Final To Be Played In London

The WTC Final 2023 will be played in June 2023 at the Oval in London. Australia looks like a firm contender for the final having led the WTC Cycle race ever since the inception of the second cycle in 2021. The Aussies have already named their Test squad for the Border-Gavaskar trophy.

Australia. Photo Credit: (Getty Images)

Australia Test squad for India tour: Pat Cummins (capt), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

Mitchell Starc has been ruled out of the first Test of the series and Peter Handscomb is also facing a race against time to be fit for the series. The four Tests will be played in Nagpur, Delhi, Dharamshala, and Ahmedabad respectively followed by a 3-match ODI series between the two sides as part of their preparation for the 2023 ODI World Cup.

Priyam Singh is the Head of Content and Operations at Cricketaddictor. He Has Been Associated With Cricketaddictor Since The Last 4 Years And His Role Revolves Around Generation And Implementation Of Content...