Bangladesh Cricket Board
Bangladesh Cricket Board (Image Credit: Twitter)

Last Update on: March 22nd, 2023 at 04:59 pm

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced the roster for the T20 international series in Chattogram against Ireland.

Rishad Hossain and Jaker Ali Anik are the two newcomers to Bangladesh’s T20I squad for the series against Ireland. T20I regulars Afif Hossain and Nurul Hasan are left out of Shakib Al Hasan’s team.

IPL 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score

Jaker Ali Anik has played in 49 domestic T20 matches, scoring 587 runs at an average of 20.96. In the Bangladesh Premier League 2023, the 25-year-old wicketkeeper-batter played for the winning Comilla Victorians, scoring 175 runs at an average of 25.

Nonetheless, Rishad Hossain has been a consistent net bowler for Bangladesh’s national squad even though he hasn’t played in any domestic T20 matches since 2021. On a Bangladesh team that is stacked with finger-spinning prowess, Rishad, a leg spinner by nature, adds wrist spin variety.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

“I hope the newcomers will seize the opportunity” – Bangladesh Cricket Board

Bangladesh has picked a 14-man squad for the three-match Twenty20 International series against Ireland, which begins on March 27. Bangladesh enters the Ireland series on the back of a 3-0 home win over Men’s T20 World Champions England.

Speaking on the two new call-ups to the squad, Chief selector Minhajul Abedin said: “Jaker received the call-up on the back of his domestic performance. He has done well for the A team as well.

“Since we’re playing against Ireland, we want to see a bit of Rishad. The management also wanted a leg-spinner. That’s why we’ve picked him. I hope the newcomers will seize the opportunity,” he added.

On March 27, the T20I series will get underway. The dates of the second and third T20Is are March 29 and 31. The Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram will host all three games.

Squad: Shakib Al Hasan (c), Litton Das, Rony Talukdar, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Towhid Hridoy, Shamim Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Rishad Hossain, Jaker Ali Anik

Also Read: IND vs AUS: BCCI Confident Of Jasprit Bumrah Being Fit In Time For The ICC 2023 World Cup- Reports

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah