England vs South Africa 1st T20I
Photo Credit: (AP)

After the ODI series ended in a draw, England and South Africa face each other in a three-match T20I series with the first T20I in Bristol on July 27. The match starts at 11 pm IST which is 6.30 pm local time. The three games will be played on July 27, 28 and 31. The T20I series will be followed by a three-match Test series between both sides.

The ODI series between the two teams ended in a draw after the third ODI was washed out due to rain. The Proteas won the first ODI while England won the second to set up the decider at Leeds. However, rain played spoilsport as both captains shared the trophy.

David Miller
David Miller PC- BCCI

Heading into the T20I series, South Africa has a new skipper in David Miller. He is also the most capped T20I player in the current side. England will be led by Jos Buttler with all the white-ball specialists back in the side.

ENG vs SA : Match Preview – South Africa Tour Of England 2022, 1st T20I

South Africa

South Africa
Image Source – Twitter

South Africa has Kagiso Rabaa back in the side after he missed out on playing the ODI series. The likes of Quinton de Kock, Anrich Nortje, Van der Dussen. South Africa won the last time they faced England in a T20I game which was in the T20 World Cup 2021 in Sharjah. England lost only one game which was against South Africa in the league stage. The series is important for both teams in terms of their preparations for the T20 World Cup later this year.

South Africa Squad

David Miller (c), Gerald Coetzee , Quinton de Kock , Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw , Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Rassie van der Dussen, Reeza Hendricks , Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj , Aiden Markram , Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell


England vs South Africa 3rd ODI
Photo Credit: (AP)

At home, England would look to bounce back in the T20I series after the ODI series ended in a stalemate. Jos Buttler lost his maiden T20I series as a skipper against India after taking over the captaincy from Eoin Morgan. Without Morgan and Ben Stokes, their middle-order will be tested against a quality bowling attack. This will be the biggest challenge for the hosts.

England Squad

Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Richard Gleeson, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Reece Topley, David Willey

Also Read: IND vs WI: Match Preview – India Tour of West Indies 2022, 3rd ODI

Anshuman Roy

A Hardcore Cricket Enthusiast Having Previously Worked With Cricwizz, Circle of Cricket, Times Now, The Quint, Cricfit and Now With Cricket Addictor.