Hong Kong-Born Mark Chapman Earns First NZC Central Contract, Replaces Martin Guptill
New Zealand's Mark Chapman (Photo- Getty)

Mark Chapman was awarded his first New Zealand Cricket Central contract. The Auckland Aces batsman will fill the vacancy left by Martin Guptill, who was released from contract in November. Chapman’s promotion comes on the back of some strong white-ball performances for his country over the past two years.

Chapman has featured in the last two ICC T20 World Cup squads and has played in 27 matches for the Blackcaps (22 T20Is and 5 ODIs) since his debut in 2018. Chapman, who was born in Hong Kong, graduated from Kings College High School and played 21 international games for his home nation before going on to play 128 games for Auckland in the domestic circuit.

IPL 2023 Auction | IND vs BAN 2022 | India vs Bangladesh 2022 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs SL 2023 | India vs Sri Lanka 2023 | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023

Mark Chapman
Mark Chapman. (Photo: BCCI)

He’s A Guy With A Lot Of Talent – Gary Stead

New Zealand head coach Gary Stead welcomed the move and said he was delighted to see Chapman’s hard work rewarded with the contract. Stead said he is looking forward to seeing him in Blackcaps squads over the coming years.

Read More  Mukesh Kumar to be snubbed, Akash Deep to debut in Ranchi Test: Report
Gary Stead
Gary Stead (Image Credit: Twitter)

“We’re delighted to have Mark join the central contract list after being there or thereabouts for a while. He’s a fine player and we like the versatility and innovation he brings to his batting. He’s a guy with a lot of talent and we see him being a big part of future BLACKCAPS squads,” Stead said.

Kane Williamson and Gary Stead will not tour India for the ODI series in January. New Zealand Cricket have confirmed that Tom Latham will be leading the ODI squad in India. Mark Chapman and Jacob Duffy will replace Williamson and Tim Southee in the squad, while Luke Ronchi will take over as the head coach in Stead’s absence.

New Zealand ODI squads for series against Pakistan and India

Kane Williamson (c) (Pakistan ODIs only), Tom Latham (captain – India ODIs), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman (India ODIs only), Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy (India ODI’s only), Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee (Pakistan ODIs only).

Also read: IND vs BAN: “We Always Talk About Dhoni That He Doesn’t Look Good But Scores Runs And Wins Matches, Shreyas Iyer Also Has The Same Class” – Mohammad Kaif

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

Read More  Babar Azam and Mickey Arthur stopped fitness Tests in Pakistan Cricket Team alleges Mohammad Hafeez