IND vs AUS:" Welcome to The Club"- Former Australian Bowler Mick Lewis's Message To Adam Zampa Goes Viral After Figures Of 0/113 Against South Africa
Photo Credit: (Reuters)

Last Update on: September 18th, 2023 at 07:49 pm

Adam Zampa equaled Mick Lewis’ figures of 0/113 as the joint-worst bowling figures in ODIs during the fourth ODI between Australia and South Africa in Centurion on Friday, September 15. 

South Africa scored a mammoth 416/5 on the back of Heinrich Klaasen’s unbeaten 174 off just 83 deliveries. The Proteas won the match by 164 runs as Australia were bowled out for 252 in the chase.

The leg-spinner returned wicketless, giving away 113 runs, equaling Mick Lewis, who shares an identical unwanted record against the Proteas. Lewis recorded the figures in the historic match between the two sides when South Africa chased 434 against Australia back in 2006. 

On Monday (September 18), Zampa shared a screenshot of Lewis’ message on Instagram, which read “Welcome to the club mate.”

Adam Zampa Shared Mick Lewis’ Message On His Instagram Story

Zampa picked up 3/70 in the fifth ODI in Johannesburg which the Proteas won by 122 runs to win the series. The leggie will now look forward to the series against India to make up for it. 

Read More  I Feel Like I Am In My Prime: David Miller Fires Warning Ahead Of World Cup

Also Read: ICC World Cup 2023: Aaron Hardie To Stay As Cover For Australia In India ODIs

He is in the Australian squad that has been named for the upcoming three-match ODI series against India. The three-match ODI series between India and Australia will be played between September 22-27 in Mohali, Indore, and Rajkot respectively. The ODI series will serve as the perfect dress rehearsal for the two teams ahead of the big World Cup. India and Australia face each other in Chennai on October 8 to kick off their World Cup campaign. 

Zampa has picked up 23 wickets in 14 ODIs against India and has a favorable head-to-head record against Virat Kohli. The leggie has dismissed the former Indian skipper five times in ODI cricket and thrice in T20Is. He picked 4/45 in the last ODI he played against India as Australia won the series 2-1. 

Australia Squad For India Series 

Pat Cummins (C), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa.


Read More  India Squad for ICC World Cup 2023, Schedule 2023, Match List, Team List

Anshuman Roy

A Hardcore Cricket Enthusiast Having Previously Worked With Cricwizz, Circle of Cricket, Times Now, The Quint, Cricfit and Now With Cricket Addictor.