Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli (Image Credits: Twitter)

Last Update on: September 15th, 2023 at 02:56 pm

Stay up-to-date with the latest teams!
Join our Telegram channel and never miss a single lineup change post-toss. 🔄📢 telegram

Veteran Indian batter Virat Kohli hasn’t been included in the playing XI for the last Super Four match against Bangladesh in the ongoing Asia Cup 2023. Virat Kohli failed to make it into the squad as the team management decided to test their best bench strength in a dead rubber match.

Indian skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and opted to field first at the R. Premadasa Stadium on Friday, September 15. They made five changes to their playing XI from the last game. Tilak Varma and Prasidh Krishna, who are not part of the World Cup squad, got an opportunity to play.

Virat Kohli, Siraj, Bumrah And Kuldeep Are Out – Rohit Sharma

During the toss, Rohit Sharma confirmed that they are providing game time to players who haven’t played much for the national cricket team in recent times.

“We got to give game time to some other guys who haven’t played. We have made five changes. Virat, Hardik, Siraj, Bumrah and Kuldeep are out. Tilak makes his debut. Shami and Prasidh also come in. Suryakumar also gets a game,” Rohit said.

Senior cricketers Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, Mohammed Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah, and Kuldeep Yadav have been rested and replaced by Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, and Prasidh Krishna in the starting XI.

Read More  WV Raman Expresses Confidence In Indian Men's Team Winning Gold Medal In Asian Games 2023

Something We Haven’t Done In The Tournament – Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma revealed the reason behind the decision to field first, which gives them a different experience of batting under lights. He mentioned that the pitch offers help for both pacers and spinners.

“We are gonna field first. It is something we haven’t done in the tournament, we haven’t done it under lights so it gives us an opportunity to bat under lights,” he further added.

The wicket honestly has got everything for everyone. Pacers who bend their back in the daytime have also got movement and there have been assistance for the spinners. Got to be brave and play your natural game.”

India vs Bangladesh Playing XI

India: Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, KL Rahul(w), Ishan Kishan, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Prasidh Krishna

Bangladesh: Litton Das(w), Tanzid Hasan, Anamul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan(c), Towhid Hridoy, Shamim Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Mustafizur Rahman

Also read: IND vs BAN: Joe Root Opens Up On Rohit Sharma And Virat Kohli’s Replacements In Team India, Says ‘That’s Very Difficult To Answer’

Read More  Rohit Sharma Drops Worrying Remark, Says 'There Is A Lot Of Uncertainty In Team India'