Jay Shah (Image Credits: Twitter)
Jay Shah (Image Credits: Twitter)

The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) chairman Jay Shah announced the pathway structure and cricket calendars for the years 2023 and 2024 on Thursday. The Asia Cup 2023 will take place in September of this year.

Last year’s runners-up, Pakistan, will this time serve as the host nation for the continental competition. India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, the reigning champions, and Bangladesh will compete in the tournament along with a qualifier.

IPL 2023 | Sri Lanka tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023

India Team and Pakistan Team
India Team and Pakistan Team (Image Credit: Twitter)

The announcement that India and Pakistan would play in the same group (Group 1) for the 2023 Asia Cup is the most interesting. Six teams will compete in the competition during the 16th Asia Cup, which will be held in September.

“Presenting the @ACCMedia1 pathway structure & cricket calendars for 2023 & 2024! This signals our unparalleled efforts & passion to take this game to new heights. With cricketers across countries gearing up for spectacular performances, it promises to be a good time for cricket!” the ACC president said in a Tweet.

IPL 2023 | IND vs SL 2023 | India vs Sri Lanka 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

“The Asia Cup 2023 will be held at a neutral venue”: Jay Shah

Pakistan is slated to host the event, but the BCCI has already stated that India would not go to the neighboring nation.

On October 18, 2022, Jay Shah stated that the Indian squad will not travel across the border for the Asia Cup, which will be hosted in a neutral venue.

India National Cricket Team
India National Cricket Team (Image Credits: PTI)

“The Asia Cup 2023 will be held at a neutral venue. I am saying this as ACC President. We (India) can’t go there (to Pakistan), they can’t come here. In the past also, the Asia Cup has been played at a neutral venue,” Jay Shah had said after the 91st BCCI annual general meeting in Mumbai.

President of Asian Cricket Council- Jay Shah (Image Credits: Twitter)
President of Asian Cricket Council- Jay Shah (Image Credits: Twitter)

Two groups made up of six teams each have been formed. India and Pakistan are in Group 1, and a qualifier will join them. Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan make up Group 2’s competitors. The tournament’s precise dates have not yet been revealed.

Also Read: Suryakumar Yadav Remains No.1, Big Gains For Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Deepak Hooda In ICC T20I Rankings

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah