India Women’s Squad For ODI And T20I Series Against South Africa Announced

India Women’s Squad For ODI And T20I Series Against South Africa Announced

India Women's team
India Women's team[photo: DNA India]

The India women’s team is set to host the South Africa women’s team for 5 ODIs and 3 T20Is at the Shree Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana International Stadium in Lucknow from 7th March to 23rd March.

This will be the first assignment for the Indian women’s side since their loss in the 2020 T20 World Cup final to Australia on 8th March last year – the women’s team have gone a full year without playing international cricket.

Both sides have arrived in Lucknow and have commenced their mandatory quarantine period. All the players and officials will undergo two rounds of covid-19 testing before being allowed to train, provided they clear the tests.

India women's, Harmanpreet Kaur
Indian women’s team. Image-Twitter.

The Uttar Pradesh Cricket Association (UPCA) is seeking permission from the BCCI to allow crowds about 40-5- percent capacity – in the ongoing Men’s series against England, about half capacity of crowds have been allowed in Chennai and Ahmedabad.

ODI and T20I Squad for India women’s:

As for the squad are concerned, India will be at their full strength with first-choice players. Veteran batsman, Mithali Raj will continue to lead the ODI side, so will Harmanpreet Kaur in the T20I team.

Opener Smriti Mandhana is named as the deputy to Kaur. 17-year-old Shafali Verma, who took the T20I World Cup last year by storm – 163 runs at a strike rate of 158.25 – will have plenty of spotlight on her in the 3 T20Is.

Both the squads have seen some experienced players like Shikha Pandey, Taniya Bhatia, and Ekta Bisht dropped with the inclusion of fresh faces.

Shafali Verma
Shafali Verma. Image-Twitter.

India Women’s squad for ODI series: Mithali Raj (Captain), Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Punam Raut, Priya Punia, Yastika Bhatia, Harmanpreet Kaur (vice-captain), D. Hemalatha, Deepti Sharma, Sushma Verma (wicket-keeper), Swetha Verma (wicket-keeper), Radha Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Jhulan Goswami, Mansi Joshi, Poonam Yadav, C. Prathyusha, Monica Patel

India Women’s T20I squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Richa Ghosh, Harleen Deol, Sushma Verma (wicket-keeper), Nuzhat Parveen (wicket-keeper), Ayushi Soni, Arundhati Reddy, Radha Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Poonam Yadav, Mansi Joshi, Monica Patel, C. Prathyusha, Simran Dil Bahadur

Also Read: India vs England 2021: Jasprit Bumrah Released From The Squad Ahead Of The 4th Test