India’s Squad For Sri Lanka Announced, Shikhar Dhawan To Captain The Side

The Indian squad for the Sri Lanka tour of 2021 has been announced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). Shikhar Dhawan will be leading the India National Cricket Team in Sri Lanka. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, the speedster has been named the vice-captain for the visitors.

The Indian cricket team is all set to take on Sri Lanka in a three-match ODI and three-match T20I series in the month of July. The first ODI of the series will be played on July 13. A second-string squad has been named for the tour as the A-listers will all be in England, preparing for the five-match Test series.

India Cricket Team (Image Credit: Twitter)

BCCI Announces A 20-Member Squad For Sri Lanka Tour

The BCCI, on Thursday, announced a 20-member limited-overs squad that will take on Sri Lanka on the limited-overs tour. A total of six new players have been added to the squad which is, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Krishnappa Gowtham, Chetan Sakariya, Varun Chakravarthy, and Nitish Rana.

Devdutt Padikkal (Image Credit: Twitter)

A total of 5 net bowlers have also been added for the tour apart from the 20-member squad which consists of Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simranjeeet Singh.

India’s squad: Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (Wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (Wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya

Net Bowlers: Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simarjeet Singh

India’s Sri Lanka Tour To Commence On July 13

The Men in Blue are currently in England, where they are preparing for the ICC World Test Championship final which will be played against New Zealand from June 18-June 22 at the Rose Bowl Stadium in Southampton. After the WTC final, the national contingent will stay back in England to prepare for the five-match Test series which will begin from August 05.

India Team (Image Credit: Twitter)

Meanwhile, the second-string team will take on Sri Lanka in a three-match ODI series and a three-match T20I series, which will commence from July 13. All the matches will be played at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

Priyam Singh

I Wake Up Watching Cricket And Go To Bed Watching Football. Everything In Between Includes Lawn Tennis, Wrestling, Basketball, Formula 1, And Badminton. I Write To Make A Living And I Manage To Make My Organization In Making A Living.

Recent Posts

BCB Confirms The Use Of The DRS In The Bangladesh-Australia T20 Series

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced that the Decision Review System (DRS) would be present…

18 mins ago

7 Currently Active Players In The IPL Who Have Spent 10 Or More Years At A Single Franchise

Indian Premier League is one of the most entertaining franchises in T20 leagues around the…

35 mins ago

I Can See Pakistan Probably Winning The T20 World Cup – Shoaib Akhtar Predicts An India-Pakistan Final

Former fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar has predicted a high-voltage clash between India and Pakistan to…

37 mins ago

England vs India 2021: Predicted Best Combined XI

The countdown for England vs India 2021 Test series has begun as the tournament is…

42 mins ago

Ashton Turner Hopes Return To Bowling Will Increase His T20 World Cup Chances

Australian all-rounder Ashton Turner hopes that bowling would give him an edge ahead of the…

1 hour ago

10 Players With Highest T20I Scores At Each Batting Position (Full Member Nations)

Batting positions is one of the key factors for players in T20 internationals and it…

2 hours ago

This website uses cookies.