KKR vs SRH: Watch - Ball hits stumps, but Jaydev Unadkat adjudged LBW; SRH star's bizarre dismissal goes viral

Published - 26 May 2024, 11:13 PM | Updated - 26 May 2024, 11:14 PM

Jaydev Unadkat
Jaydev Unadkat

Sunrisers Hyderabad had a disastrous outing in the recently-concluded IPL 2024 final against Kolkata Knight Riders as they suffered a crushing 8-wicket loss at the MA Chidambaram Stadium.

Barring the toss, nothing went right for the Hyderabad-based outfit as they were bowled out for a paltry total of 113 runs after their captain Pat Cummins opted to bat first. SRH lost three wickets in the powerplay and just could not recover from those early setbacks.

At one stage, SRH were reeling at 62 for 5 before being reduced to 77 for 7. Even the 100-run mark was looking like a distant dream for them before Cummins' 24-run knock gave the scoreboard some respectability. Barring Cummins, no other SRH batter could score more than 20 runs. For KKR, Andre Russell picked up three wickets while Mitchell Starc and Vaibhav Arora claimed two wickets apiece.

It was the kind of day where nothing went right for SRH and perhaps the dismissal that best describes their luck is that of Jaydev Unadkat. On the same delivery, the SRH bowler was hit on the pad before the ball went on to hit the stumps as well. The drama did not end there. After the ball hit the off stump, the bails did not come off.

KKR appealed for lbw but the umpire gave his decision in Unadkat's favour. However, KKR were convinced that they had their man and decided to review the decision. The replays then showed that the ball was indeed hitting the stumps and the umpire had to change his decision. As a result, Unadkat had to depart for 4 runs off 11 balls.

Talking about the game, KKR thrashed SRH by eight wickets to win the IPL for the third time. Set a target of 114 runs, KKR chased down the total in less than 11 overs by losing just two wickets. Venkatesh Iyer starred with the bat, smashing an unbeaten 52 off just 26 balls. KKR also became only the third team after Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings to win the IPL thrice. 

Watch Jaydev Unadkat's weird dismissal: