Ramiz Raja
Ramiz Raja had to take the heat of the fans. (Photo Source: PCB)

Former Pakistan cricketer-commentator Rameez Raja has named his all-time playing XI. He picked ace cricketer in his list which includes four Windies cricketers.

Surprisingly the list includes a solitary from Pakistan in the form of Word Cup-winning skipper Imran Khan.

Imran Khan
1992: Imran Khan of Pakistan lifts the World Cup after Pakistan beat England in the final at Melbourne. Image Courtesy: Getty Images

The 55-year old Rameez Raja picked Sir Viv Richards, Brian Lara, Sir Garfield Sobers, Malcolm Marshall, to be precise he also names three Indian cricketers.

He opted to start of the innings with flamboyant opener Virender Sehwag alongside the little master Sunil Gavaskar and he added the master blaster Sachin Tendulkar at no.4 spot.

Rameez Raja picks his all-time XI

To talk about the middle-order Rameez believes Brian Lara, Sir Garfield Sobers, and Adam Gilchrist would form the great core.

Interestingly, in the bowling department, Rameez relied on premium cricketers such as a quality all-rounder Imran; Windies speedster Malcolm Marshall and Australias wily customer Glenn McGrath. And in the spin department, he picked up a legendary spinner, Shane Warne.

Sunil Gavaskar, Shane Warne, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, South Africa vs India 2018
Sunil Gavaskar has termed Shane Warne as an Artist. (Photo by Tom Jenkins/Getty Images). An image from the book “In The Moment” published in June 2012

Former Pakistan batter Rameez Raja played 57 Tests and 198 ODIs. He scored i2833 in the 5-day format and subsequently amassed 5841 runs in the 50-over format. Currently, he is enjoying the commentary stint owing to a broadcast medium.

Rahul Dravid, Ramiz Raja, U-19 India, U-19 Pakistan, Under-19 World Cup, New Zealand
Ramiz Raja wants a coach like Rahul Dravid within the ambit of PCB. Photo Credit: Web.

Ramiz Raja’s all-time XI: Virender Sehwag, Sunil Gavaskar, Sir Viv Richards, Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Sir Garfield Sobers, Adam Gilchrist (wk), Imran Khan (c), Malcolm Marshall, Glenn McGrath, Shane Warne.

Watch: Rameez Raja picks his all-time XI