Report: Six Cities To Play Host To IPL 2021

Report: Six Cities To Play Host To IPL 2021

IPL 2021: Schedule, Date, Auction, Team List, Complete Squads, Venue
IPL 2021.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has reportedly decided to stage the 13th season of the Indian Premier League [IPL] across six different cities.

This is in stark contrast to the BCCI’s initial plans where it had decided to host IPL 2022 in Maharashtra and Ahmedabad. While the league-stage was supposed to take place in Mumbai and Pune, the playoffs were scheduled to take place at the newly refurbished Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

According to a report published in the Times of India, the BCCI has shortlisted the likes of Mumbai, Delhi, Chennai, Bengaluru, Ahmedabad, and Kolkata as the six cities for staging IPL 2021.

IPL trophy
Image Credits: Twitter

Hyderabad has been left for reasons concerning the local cricket association while Mumbai has been included after Maharashtra Chief Minister Udhav Thackeray gave the green signal to the BCCI to stage the matches.

The Maharashtra government has also given its nod for staging the upcoming One-day International series between India and England in Pune.

Both the ODI series in Pune and IPL matches at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai will b played behind closed doors. That said, 50 percent capacity crowd will be allowed to feature at all the other venues.

As far as the IPL franchises are concerned, while some of them are waiting for the official confirmation from the BCCI, the others have reportedly expressed their displeasure at the sudden change of plans.

“Obviously, it’s scary. The earlier idea of hosting it in one or two cities sounded far better. After all, the 2020 edition was conducted between three venues and it went well…Franchises had started preparing, thinking it was only going to be between Mumbai and Pune, with the playoffs in Ahmedabad. Those plans change now. Franchises will want to know more and that will happen soon,” a franchise representative told the Times of India.

The 14th season is expected to kickstart from the second week of April and it will culminate in the first month of June.

Also Read: IPL 2021: KTR Requests BCCI To Include Hyderabad As One Of The IPL Venues

Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.