West Indies vs South Africa 1
West Indies vs South Africa (Credit: Twitter)

Last Update on: March 25th, 2023 at 01:13 pm

Stay up-to-date with the latest teams!
Join our Telegram channel and never miss a single lineup change post-toss. 🔄📢 telegram

The SA vs WI first T20I will be played in Centurion on March 25 starting from 5.30 am ISt which is 2 pm local time. South Africa and West Indies go head to head in a three-match T20I series after the end of the ODI series. West Indies lost the Test series and drew the ODI series. Now both teams are all set to lock horns in a thrilling T20I series.

South Africa will be led by Aiden Markram. West Indies have a new captain in Rovman Powell after Nicholas Pooran stepped down as West Indies white-ball skipper after the end of the T20 World Cup 2022.

IPL 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score

Both South Africa and West Indies played last in the T20 World Cup. While West Indies failed to qualify for the Super 12 stage, South Africa lost to the Netherlands to bow out of the tournament. The two teams have played 16 T20Is so far with the Proteas winning 10 while the Windies just six.

Read More  South Africa Squad For ICC World Cup 2023, Schedule 2023, Match List, Team List

South Africa have the likes of Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, David Miller and Rilee Rossouw back in the squad for the T20I series. At home, they have chosen a full-strength squad for the T20I series.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | Chennai Super Kings (CSK) | Delhi Capitals (DC) | Gujarat Titans (GT) | Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) | Lucknow Supergiants (LSG) | Mumbai Indians (MI) | Punjab Kings (PBKS) | Rajasthan Royals (RR) | Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) | SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH)

The likes of Pooran, Jason Holder, Johnson Charles, Powell himself and a good set of T20I bowlers makes West Indies an evenly matched team to their opponents. West Indies lost the Test series 2-0 and drew the ODI series heading into the T20I series. They have specialist players in this format and hence will back themselves to win the T20I series.

After drawing the ODI series, South Africa and West Indies are both still alive for direct qualification for the ODI World Cup to be played in India. The ICC 2023 ODI World Cup will be a 10-team event with the top seven teams having already qualified. India being the hosts have earned a direct qualification. The eighth team will be one among South Africa, West Indies and Sri Lanka. The final two teams will be known after the qualifiers to be played in June.

Read More  IND vs AUS Match Preview– 3rd ODI, 2023

SA vs WI Head-to-Head Overall Stats

Format Test ODI T20I
Matches played 32 64 16
West Indies Won 3 16 6
South Africa Won 22 45 10
West Indies Win % 9.37% 25% 37.5%
South Africa Win % 68.75% 70.31% 62.5%

SA vs WI Head to Head In T20Is- 1st T20I, 2023

Matches Played – 16

West Windies Won – 6

South Africa Won – 10

Most Runs For South Africa: Quinton de Kock-302

Most Wickets For South Africa: David Wiese – 10

Most Runs For West Indies: Chris Gayle -375

Most Wickets For West Indies: Dwayne Bravo-15

SA vs WI Head To Head In T20Is

Matches Played 16
West Indies Won 6
South Africa Won 10
Tied 0
No Result 0
West Indies Win % 37.5%
South Africa Win % 62.5%
First Played On September 2007
Last played On October 2022

SA vs WI Head To Head In ODIs

Matches Played 64
West Indies Won 45
South Africa Won 16
Tied 1
No Result 2
West Indies Win % 70.31%
South Africa Win % 25%
First Played On 5 March 1992
Last played On 10 June 2019

SA vs WI Head To Head In Test Matches

Matches Played 32
West Indies Won 3
South Africa Won 22
Tied 0
Drawn 0
West Indies Win % 9.37 %
South Africa Win % 68.75%
Draw % 0%
First Played On 18 April 1992
Last played On 18 June 2021
Read More  "Virat Kohli Ended Naveen-ul-Haq's Career" - Fans On X React As Pacer Announces Shock ODI Retirement


Also Read: MI-W vs UP-W: “We Haven’t Played Our Best Cricket”- Alyssa Healy After Losing The WPL 2023 Eliminator Against MI Women

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah



Anshuman Roy

A Hardcore Cricket Enthusiast Having Previously Worked With Cricwizz, Circle of Cricket, Times Now, The Quint, Cricfit and Now With Cricket Addictor.