Senior South African Players To Be Available For Entire IPL 2021 As CSA Announced Squad For ODI And T20I Series Against Pakistan

Senior South African Players To Be Available For Entire IPL 2021 As CSA Announced Squad For ODI And T20I Series Against Pakistan

Kagiso Rabada
Kagiso Rabada. Image-Sky Sports.

On Thursday, Cricket South Africa (CSA) announced the squads for the home ODI and T20I series against Pakistan next month, and with that news, it has also been confirmed that the players who are bound to play in the IPL 2021 will miss the T20Is.

The 3-match ODI series commences on 2nd April for which a full-strength squad is announced. However, the 4-match T20I series, starting from April 10th, will not see the likes of Quinton De Kock, Kagiso Rabada, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, and Anrich Nortje as they will leave for the IPL, which is scheduled to begin on April 9th.

Quinton de Kock
Quinton de Kock (Image Credit: Twitter)

South Africa call-up youngsters to replace senior players who will leave for IPL

Imran Tahir, Chris Morris, and Faf du Plessis are not selected in the ODI squad as well. Allrounder Wihan Lubbe (in T20I squad) and pacer Lizaad Williams (in both ODI and T20I squads) have received their first call-ups to the national squad. Sisanda Magala, who has previously been in the squad but uncapped yet, is in both squads.

Aiden Markram and Wiaan Mulder have both been recalled to the ODI squad along with Daryn Dupavillon. Kyle Verreynne is also given his first T20 squad invitation. Temba Bavuma, who was appointed the new white-ball skipper, will lead South Africa for the first time as a permanent captain.

Pakistan, South Africa
Image Credit: Twitter

“We’re very excited about these two squads that we have selected for our home tour against Pakistan/ The ODI squad boasts the calibre of talent we have in South African Cricket and I’m really excited to see how they go about the series. We have enough experience within that squad to provide a good challenge to Pakistan when they arrive on our shores,” CSA Convenor of Selectors, Mr. Victor Mpitsang, said.

“The T20 squad is also a good indication of our depth as a cricket nation with the loss of some of the senior players to the IPL. We have a massive 18 months of T20 cricket coming up, with two ICC T20 World Cups for players to contest. We as a Selection Panel are looking forward to seeing what the new additions to the team will contribute to the Proteas’ system,” he added.

South Africa ODI squad: Temba Bavuma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wk), Beuran Hendricks , Heinrich Klaasen, Janneman Malan, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts, Rassie van der Dussen, Junior Dala, Lutho Sipamla, Wiaan Mulder, Sisanda Magala, Kyle Verreynne, Daryn Dupavillon, Lizaad Williams
South Africa T20 squad: Temba Bavuma (captain) Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, George Linde, Rassie van der Dussen, Janneman Malan, Sisanda Magala, Dwaine Pretorius, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla, Kyle Verreynne (wk), Pite van Biljon, Migael Pretorius, Lizaad Williams, Wihan Lubbe

Also Read: Indian Management Never Questioned Jasprit Bumrah, They Backed Him: Mohammad Amir