New Zealand, NZ vs SL
New Zealand (in file image)

Last Update on: March 27th, 2023 at 12:24 am

On Sunday, March 26, New Zealand Cricket (NZC) announced the squads of the New Zealand National Cricket Team for the upcoming T20I series against Sri Lanka National Cricket Team and Pakistan National Cricket Team.

The BlackCaps will play a three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka at home on April 2, 5 and 8. After the conclusion of the series against the Lankan Lions, the Kiwis will travel to Pakistan for a white-ball series (ODIs and T20Is). The T20Is will be played on April 14, 15, 17, 20 and 24.

IPL 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score 

Tom Latham is set to return to T20Is for the first time since 2021 and he will lead the side in the home and away series. Also, Chad Bowes and Henry Shipley are likely to make their debuts in the Sri Lanka series.

Along with Tom Latham, Cole McConchie, Rachin Ravindra and Tim Seifert have been selected for T20Is for the first time since 2021. The wicketkeeper-batter Tim Seifert will not take part in the Pakistan series as he and his wife await the birth of their first child. Meanwhile, Dane Cleaver, Cole McConchie and Blair Tickner will join the squad as New Zealand travel to Pakistan.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | Chennai Super Kings (CSK) | Delhi Capitals (DC) | Gujarat Titans (GT) | Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) | Lucknow Supergiants (LSG) | Mumbai Indians (MI) | Punjab Kings (PBKS) | Rajasthan Royals (RR) | Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) | SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) 

The head coach of the side, Gary Stead, is all set to take a break during the T20Is against Pakistan and Shane Jurgensen will replace him. Gary Stead will rejoin the squad for the ODI series.

New Zealand Coaching Staff Impressed With Tom Latham’s Leadership – Gary Stead

In an official statement issued by NZC, New Zealand National Cricket Team head coach Gary Stead said that Tom Latham has impressed everyone with his leadership qualities.

“We saw against India earlier this season the power and range of shots that Tom possesses. His adaptability also means he can feature in a range of batting positions.

“He led an inexperienced T20 squad to Bangladesh in 2021 and we were really impressed with his leadership of that group during a COVID bubble tour.”

“We’ve got players returning and guys potentially making their debuts, that’s a really exciting mix to have in the group for these matches.

“Players like Tim and Cole haven’t been around the squad for little while and I am sure they will bring good energy when they are involved. They have both earned their selection with strong domestic form this season.”

New Zealand T20I Squads For Series vs Sri Lanka and Pakistan

Tom Latham (c, wk), Chad Bowes*, Mark Chapman, Dane Cleaver (PAK T20s), Matt Henry, Ben Lister, Adam Milne, Cole McConchie (PAK T20s), Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Rachin Ravindra, Tim Seifert (SL T20s), Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner (PAK T20s), Will Young.

Also Read: IPL 2023: WATCH – Fans Rejoice As Virat Kohli Joins Royal Challengers Bangalore Camp At Chinnaswamy For Indian Premier League

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

Sonanchal Gautam

A Professional Wrestling And Hip-hop Enthusiast, Who Is Focused On Writing Cricket-related Stuff 6 Days A Week.