Categories: NewsTOP 5-10

Vijay Hazare Trophy: 4 Indian Batsmen Who Have Scored A Double Century In The History Of The Tournament

Prev1 of 4

Vijay Hazare Trophy is the most crucial ODI domestic tournament in India. Vijay Hazare Trophy was introduced in 2002 as a limited-overs domestic tournament. Earlier, the teams participating in the tournament were divided into five zones namely- Central zone, East zone, North Zone, South Zone and West Zone. In Vijay Hazare 2020-21, there are 38 teams divided into six groups – group A, group B, group C, group D, Group E and Plate.

Tamil Nadu is the most successful team in Vijay Hazare Trophy so far – winning titles on five occasions. Karnataka follows Tamil Nadu with 4 titles to their name. When talking about a 50-over domestic cricket tournament in India, Vijay Hazare is the most popular league to look upon. The tournament has seen some great knocks throughout its history. In the history of the Vijay Hazare Trophy, only four players have managed to hit double centuries. Here we take a look at these four players, who created history after smashing a double ton in Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Vijay Hazare Trophy: 4 Indian Batsmen Who Have Scored A Double Century In The History Of The Tournament

Karn Veer Kaushal- 202

Karn Veer Kaushal (Image Credit: Twitter)

Karna Veer Kaushal became the first-ever cricketer to smash a double century in Vijay Hazara Trophy. While playing for Uttarakhand, he hit a marvellous 202-run knock against Sikkim in Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19. With 202 runs in 135 balls, Karn Veer Singh broke Ajinkya Rahane’s record of highest knock of 187 in Vijay Hazare Trophy. Rahane had scored 187 runs in the 2007-08 edition of the tournament.

While reaching his double century, Karn Veer Kaushal hit 9 sixes and 18 fours. He was able to reach his double century in 132 deliveries. With Karn Veer Kaushal’s spectacular knock, Uttarakhand posted massive 366 runs on board while batting first. Uttarakhand easily won the match after opposition Sikkim could only manage 167-6 runs on board in 50 overs.

Yashasvi Jaiswal- 203

Yashasvi Jaiswal (Image Credit: Twitter)

Yashasvi Jaiswal became the youngest cricketer to hit a double century in List A cricket after he smashed a 203-run knock in Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20. While playing for Mumbai, the left-handed batsman scored 203 runs off just 154 balls to script his name in the record books.

With his brilliant knock, which consisted of 17 fours and 12 sixes, Jaiswal was able to take Mumbai to a massive total of 358-3 in the first innings. After reaching 203 runs, Jaiswal eventually lost his wicket to Vivekanand Tiwari. Mumbai won the match by 39 runs after Jharkhand were bowled out for 319 runs in the second innings.

Sanju Samson- 212*

Sanju Samson (Image Credit: Twitter)

During Kerala vs Goa match in Vijay Haraza Trophy 2019-20, Kerala wicket-keeper Sanju Samson sparked with his astonishing double century. The right-handed batsman Samson smashed an unbeaten double century to take Kerala to 377-3 while batting first. Samson scored 212 runs off 129 balls, hitting 21 fours and 10 sixes in the process.

He broke Karn Veer Kaushal’s record of the highest score (202) in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. In response, Goa could only manage 273-8 in 50 overs. Kerala won the match by 104 runs and Sanju Samson earned the limelight for his amazing knock.

Prithvi Shaw- 227*

Prithvi Shaw (Image Credit: Twitter)

Prithvi Shaw became the latest addition to the double century hitter’s list in Vijay Hazare Trophy after the Mumbai cricketer hit an unbeaten 227-run knock against Puducherry. In the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy 2020-21 tournament, the right-handed batsman Shaw smashed 227 runs off 152 balls at Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur on February 25, 2021. He has also smashed the highest-ever individual score in Vijay Hazare Trophy- breaking the earlier record of Sanju Samson’s 212 run-knock.

Prithvi Shaw opened the innings for Mumbai along with Yashasvi Jaiswal.  Shaw hit 31 fours and 5 sixes in his amazing innings. Mumbai reached a mammoth 457-4 after the end of 50 overs. In response, Puducherry were bowled out for 224 runs in 38.1 overs. Prithvi Shaw is the fourth cricketer to hit a double-century in the Vijay Hazare Trophy and holds the record of the highest individual score (227) in the domestic tournament.

For all the Cricket News and Latest Cricket Updates, follow Cricketaddictor.

Prev1 of 4

Ca Staff

Recent Posts

Shah Rukh Khan Expresses His Disappointment After Kolkata Knight Riders’ Bottle A Winning Position Against Mumbai Indians

Kolkata Knight Riders [KKR] co-owner and Bollywood Superstar, Shah Rukh Khan, has expressed his disappointment…

6 mins ago

Lot Of Benefit From Having Guys Like Rohit Showing Confidence In Me: Rahul Chahar

If Kolkata Knight Riders' Andre Russell took a fifer, Mumbai Indians' Rahul Chahar picked a…

26 mins ago

It Was A Complete Team Effort: Rohit Sharma After Mumbai Indians Script A Comeback From The Dead Against Kolkata Knight Riders

Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma was chuffed to bits after the defending champions stormed back…

31 mins ago

IPL 2021, Match 6: SunRisers Hyderabad vs Royal Challengers Bangalore (SRH vs RCB) – When And Where To Watch, Live Streaming Details

On Wednesday (14th April), SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) will fight against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in…

36 mins ago

IPL 2021, Match 6: SunRisers Hyderabad vs Royal Challengers Bangalore (SRH vs RCB) – Match Preview And Prediction

In the sixth match of the IPL 2021, SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) will face Royal Challengers…

57 mins ago

We Made Mistakes; Hopefully We Can Iron Them Out: Eoin Morgan

Eoin Morgan rotated his bowlers sensationally in the first innings, but Kolkata Knight Riders could…

1 hour ago

This website uses cookies.