WPL 2024

The BCCI has reportedly finalized the time frame for the second edition of the Women’s Premier League (WPL 2024). The decision was taken on the sidelines of the WPL auction in Mumbai on Saturday (December 9), as per Cricbuzz.

The inaugural edition of the competition was held in March this year. A total of five teams – Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Delhi Capitals, UP Warriorz and Gujarat Giants – participated in the competition. All the matches were held in Mumbai’s Brabourne Stadium and DY Patil Stadium.

Mumbai Indians won the inaugural edition by beating Delhi Capitals in the final. Both Delhi and Mumbai had won 6 of their 8 league games before fighting it out in the final. UP Warriorz finished at the third spot with 4 wins followed by Royal Challengers Bangalore and Gujarat Giants who had finished with two wins each.

BCCI finalizes time frame for WPL 2024:

According to a report in Cricbuzz, the BCCI has finalized the time frame of WPL 2024. The tournament is likely to take place from February 22 to March 17. The report further stated that although the venues have not been finalized, the second edition of the WPL is likely to take place in multiple locations. The BCCI has already communicated this tentative schedule to the five competing franchises.

Read More  "Jasprit Bumrah is like R Ashwin.."- Munaf Patel

Players retained by all teams for WPL 2024:

Delhi Capitals

Alice Capsey, Arundhati Reddy, Jemimah Rodrigues, Jess Jonassen, Laura Harris, Marizanne Kapp, Meg Lanning, Minnu Mani, Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav, Shafali Verma, Shikha Pandey, Sneha Deepthi, Taniyaa Bhatia, Titas Sadhu

Gujarat Giants

Ashleigh Gardner, Beth Mooney, Dayalan Hemalatha, Harleen Deol, Laura Wolvaardt, Shabnam Shakil, Sneh Rana, Tanuja Kanwer

Mumbai Indians

Amanjot Kaur, Amelia Kerr, Chloe Tryon, Harmanpreet Kaur, Hayley Matthews, Humairaa Kaazi, Isabelle Wong, Jintimani Kalita, Natalie Sciver, Pooja Vastrakar, Priyanka Bala, Saika Ishaque, Yastika Bhatia

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Asha Shobana, Disha Kasat, Ellyse Perry, Heather Knight, Indrani Roy, Kanika Ahuja, Renuka Singh, Richa Ghosh, Shreyanka Patil, Smriti Mandhana, Sophie Devine

UP Warriorz

Alyssa Healy, Anjali Sarvani, Deepti Sharma, Grace Harris, Kiran Navgire, Lauren Bell, Laxmi Yadav, Parshavi Chopra, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, S. Yashasri, Shweta Sehrawat, Sophie Ecclestone, Tahlia Mcgrath

Prince Singh is an Author and Editor at Cricketaddictor. Prince has been associated with the organisation for more than 5 years and in this time period, he has written close to 20000 articles for the website.