WPL Auction 2023: 409 Cricketers Shortlisted For The Auction On February 13 In Mumbai

Women's Premier League (WPL)
Women’s Premier League (WPL) (PC-Twitter)

On Tuesday, February 7, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the Women’s Premier League (WPL) Player Auction list.

A total of 409 cricketers are all set to go under the auction hammer at the Jio World Convention Centre in Mumbai on February 13. In total, a whopping 1525 cricketers from all across the globe had registered for the inaugural WPL auction, of which 409 were shortlisted.

IPL 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score 

Among 409 cricketers, who are set to go under the auction hammer, 246 are from India and 163 are from overseas, of which 8 are from associate nations. Also, there are a total of 202 capped players, 199 uncapped players and 8 from associate nations, who have made the final list.

A maximum of 90 players can be acquired by the teams at the inaugural WPL auction, including 30 overseas players. In total 24 players have placed themselves in the INR 50 lakh bracket. Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana, Deepti Sharma and Shafali Verma are among the few Indians who have placed themselves in the highest bracket.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

Also, 13 overseas players, including the likes of Ellyse Perry, Sophie Ecclestone, Sophie Devine and Deandra Dottin, have slotted themselves in the INR 50 Lakh bracket.

30 players have placed themselves in the INR 40 lakh bracket for the auction, which is all set to commence at 2.30 pm IST in Mumbai.

CLICK HERE to check the complete WPL Player Auction list

Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2023 To Be Played In Mumbai From March 4 To 26

The owners of the Indian Premier League (IPL) franchises Mumbai Indians (MI), Delhi Capitals (DC) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) along with Adani Group and Capri Global, won bids to own and operate WPL teams. The 5 WPL teams will be based in Mumbai, Delhi, Bengaluru, Ahmedabad and Lucknow respectively.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) fetched a record sum of INR 4669.99 crore (USD 572.78 million approx) with the sale of the franchises. Also, the WPL media rights were sold to Viacom for INR 951 crore (USD 116.7 million approx.)

Meanwhile, the most expensive franchise – Ahmedabad-based Gujarat Giants – was bought by Adani Sportsline Pvt. Ltd for a whopping INR 1289 crore (USD 158 million approx).

Indiawin Sports Pvt. Ltd (Mumbai Indians) acquired the Mumbai franchise for INR 912.99 crore (USD 111 million approx), Royal Challengers Sports Pvt. Ltd (Royal Challengers Bangalore) bought the Bengaluru franchise for INR 901 crore (USD 110 million approx), JSW GMR Cricket Pvt. Ltd (Delhi Capitals) bought the Delhi franchise for INR 810 crore (USD 99.35 million approx) and Capri Global Holdings Pvt. Ltd acquired the Lucknow franchise for INR 757 crore (USD 92.85 million approx).

The Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2023 is all set to be played between March 4 and 26 across two venues – Brabourne Stadium and DY Patil Stadium – in Mumbai. A total of 22 games will be played in the inaugural edition of the Women’s Premier League.

Also Read: Women’s Premier League: Mumbai Indians Appoint Charlotte Edwards As Head Coach, Jhulan Goswami Named Bowling Coach

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah


Related Posts