Abhimanyu Easwaran.
Abhimanyu Easwaran. Credit: PTI

Last Update on: August 31st, 2019 at 01:06 pm

The young and talented top-order batsman Abhimanyu Easwaran is all set to replace Manoj Tiwary as the Bengal skipper from the upcoming season. The state selectors revealed a 21-member squad for a 50-over pre-season tournament in Jaipur with Easwaran at the helm of things.

Hailing from Dehradun, Abhimanyu Easwaran started playing cricket at a very early age. He made rapid progress and came up the ranks to play for India A in a short span. Easwaran has been Bengal’s best player last season and has been a favourite of coach Arun Lal for his work ethics.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019, Manoj Tiwary
Manoj Tiwary. Credits – Twitter

Read More: Jofra Archer Says Australians Are Terrible At Sledging

The selectors were mulling the idea of split captaincy with Manoj Tiwary leading the side in the shorter formats and Easwaran at the scheme of things in red-ball cricket. But the veteran batsman took one step back to allow Abhimanyu Easwaran mature as a skipper. He also promised to help in every difficult situation.

Sudip Chatterjee will work as Easwaran’s deputy throughout the season. CAB joint secretary Avishek Dalmiya said that Manoj has assured to guide his junior member in every possible way.

“We discussed this (split captaincy) with Manoj and he feels that it is important for him to contribute as a player now. Manoj has assured us that he’ll guide Easwaran as a senior colleague of the side,” Dalmiya said.

Abhimanyu Easwaran Replaces Manoj Tiwari As Bengal Skipper
Abhimanyu Easwaran.

Read More: Team India Is No Ones’ Personal Property – Manoj Tiwary Takes A Jibe On MS Dhoni’s Retirement Speculation

Abhimanyu Easwaran, who is currently in Bengaluru playing in the Duleep Trophy will join the squad in Jaipur. Speaking on the recent development, he said that it will be challenging, but he is ready for the task.

 “I know it is a big challenge but I will give my best for Bengal,” Easwaran said.

Bengal will start their Vijay Hazare Trophy campaign against Gujarat on September 24. The selectors will reveal the squad after the end of the pre-season meet.

Bengal Squad for pre-season meet:

Abhimanyu Easwaran (captain), Sudip Chatterjee (vice-captain), Manoj Tiwary, Ashok Dinda, Shreevats Goswami, Anustup Majumder, Vivek Singh, Ritwik Roy Chowdhury, Abhishek Raman, Writtick Chatterjee, Akash Deep, Ayan Bhattacharjee, Raju Halder, Prayas Roy Burman, Shabaaz Ahmed, Ramesh Prasad, Arnab Nandy, Shayan Ghosh, Ishan Porel, Mukesh Kumar, Agniv Pan.

Ankush Das

I am an accountant by qualification, my parents thought their obedient son would study further to become a CA, but I had other things in mind. An ardent Cricket fan is following his passion and making...