Categories: CricketNews

Andre Russell Joins Rajshahi Royals For The Upcoming BPL

Rajshahi Royals have added swashbuckling all-rounder from West Indies Andre Russell to strengthen their squad for the upcoming edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL). The Royals also roped in veteran Pakistan all-rounder Shoaib Malik as direct recruitment for the next season of the tournament.

Although Russell has struggled with injuries in the recent past, everybody knows what he is capable of on a given day. He showcased his class in the last editions of the Indian Premier League when he unleashed a carnage against the bowlers dispatching them six with ease while playing for Kolkata Knight Riders. He was also in good form in the Abu Dhabi T10 League and will add value to the Rajshahi Royals.

Shoaib Malik. Credit: Twitter

Read More: Watch – Leg-Spinner Qais Ahmad Stuns Andre Russell With A Bouncer

On the other hand, Sylhet Thunder also added two more members to their squad. They made their one direct signing adding left-arm fast bowler from West Indies Sheldon Cottrell to their team. The other one is fast bowler Ebadat Hossain, who recently represented Bangladesh in the two-match Test series against India.

The seventh season of the tournament known as Bangabandhu Premier League will get underway from December 11 and will end on 17 January 2020, with the opening ceremony to be held on 8 December 2019. Comilla Victorians will look to defend their title when they begin their campaign against Rangpur Rangers on the first day of the competition.

Read More: Ireland’s Tim Murtagh Retires From International Cricket

Updated squad for Rajshahi Royals and Sylhet Thunder:

Rajshahi Royals : Liton Kumar Das, Afif Hossain, Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi, Farhad Reza, Ravi Bopara (England), Hazratullah Zazai (Afghanistan), Taijul Islam, Alok Kapali, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Irfan Sukkur, Mohammad Nawaz (Pakistan), Mohammad Irfan (Pakistan), Minhajul Abedin Afridi, Nahidul Islam, Andre Russell (West Indies) and Shoaib Malik (Pakistan).

Sylhet Thunder : Mohammad Mithun, Mosaddek Hossain, Nazmul Islam Apu, Sohag Gazi, Sherfane Rutherford (West Indies), Shafiqullah, Rony Talukdar, Nayeem Hasan, Delwar Hossain, Monir Hossain, Johnson Charles (West Indies), Naveen-ul-Haq (Afghanistan), Ruyel Miah, Jeevan Mendis (Sri Lanka), Sheldon Cottrell (West Indies) and Ebadat Hossain.

Ankush Das

I am an accountant by qualification, my parents thought their obedient son would study further to become a CA, but I had other things in mind. An ardent Cricket fan is following his passion and making a living watching and working around his favorite sport.

Recent Posts

Ashton Turner Hopes Return To Bowling Will Increase His T20 World Cup Chances

Australian all-rounder Ashton Turner hopes that bowling would give him an edge ahead of the…

16 mins ago

10 Players With Highest T20I Scores At Each Batting Position (Full Member Nations)

Batting positions is one of the key factors for players in T20 internationals and it…

36 mins ago

SLC To Host ‘Invitational T20 League’ From August 12

The Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) will be conducting a domestic T20 tournament, by the name…

55 mins ago

T20 Could Have Helped Cricket Qualify For Olympics; The Hundred Wasn’t Really Needed: Ian Chappell

Former Australian skipper-turned commentator Ian Chappell believes that the T20 format of the game is…

1 hour ago

Reetinder Singh Sodhi Picks Team India’s Squad For T20 World Cup 2021

Former Indian stumper Reetinder Singh Sodhi has banked on experience rather than youth while picking…

1 hour ago

India Will Benefit A Lot From Ben Stokes’ Absence: Aakash Chopra

With star England all-rounder Ben Stokes opting out of the upcoming Test series against India,…

2 hours ago

This website uses cookies.