Australia vs India 2018 | 1st T20I
Indian Cricket Team

Team India has named their 12-member squad for the opening Twenty20 International fixture of the three-match series against Australia starting from November 21 (Wednesday) at Gabba.

Meanwhile, India is on a two-month long tour taking on the Aussies on a series across formats. This will be their best opportunity to beat the hosts, who are going through a rough phase. On the other hand, India is coming from a series win against the Windies with all the players chipping in significantly.

However, the management surprisingly left out Manish Pandey, who featured in all the T20Is from the 12-man squad. Shreyas Iyer, Washington Sundar, and Umesh Yadav are the other three to be left out. The management has Rishabh Pant as the designated wicket-keeper like the Windies series; however, Dinesh Karthik donned the gloves. It will be interesting to see if Rishabh Pant keeps the wickets in the absence of MS Dhoni.

Dinesh Karthik, Krunal Pandya, India vs Windies 2018
While most of the players pick themselves, there could be a selection dilemma in the second half of the line-up. Ravi Shastri’s recent admission that India will miss the all-round skills of Hardik Pandya could be a hint that Krunal might get a look in to bring balance to the final XI.
Considering the Brisbane surface is likely to offer bounce, India might tilt towards playing all three quicks at their disposal. In all likelihood, that’ll push Yuzvendra Chahal to the bench.

India’s 12-man squad for the 1st T20I against Australia: 

Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Khaleel Ahmed, Yuzvendra Chahal

Ankush Das

I am an accountant by qualification, my parents thought their obedient son would study further to become a CA, but I had other things in mind. An ardent Cricket fan is following his passion and making a living watching and working around his favorite sport.