Bangladesh, Mustafizur Rahman
Mustafizur Rahman is expected to regain compete fitness in coming days.

In recent developments from Bangladesh, the cricket Board announced their squad for the upcoming two-match Twenty20 International series against Sri Lanka.

Pertinently, the squad includes seven changes from the last T20I series they played against South Africa.

The Tigers’ talismanic opening batsman Tamim Iqbal and key bowler Mustafizur Rahman, make a comeback into the T20I squad.

The two missed out of the limited-overs leg of the tournament due to a freak injury sustained while playing football during training.

Bangladesh T20I squad for Sri Lanka undergo seven changes from South Africa series
Tamim Iqbal of Bangladesh. Photo Credit: Getty Images.

Apart from Iqbal, as many as five uncapped players have been named in the squad. Abu Jayed, Ariful Haque, Mahedi Hasan, Zakir Hasan and Afif Hossain are the uncapped players included in the squad.

Imrul Kayes, Liton Das, Mehidy Hasan, Shafiul Islam, Mominul Haque, Nasir Hossain and Taskin Ahmed are the ones to be left out from the side.

The announcement was made on Saturday (February 10). Bangladesh lost the second Test match against Sri Lanka by a massive margin of 215 runs.

Bangladesh Mustafizur Rahman
Mustafizur Rahman of Bangladesh.

Sri Lanka won the 2-match series by a margin of 1-0. They won the Test match at Sher-E-Bangla Stadium at Dhaka earlier.

Bangladesh managed to salvage a draw in the First Test match at Chittagong. Roshen Silva was adjudged as both the man of the match as well as the series.

Shakib Al Hasan, after missing out on the Test series, will make his way back to the Bangladeshi team. Shakib will also handle the captaincy when the series starts on February 13.

Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, News, Tamim Iqbal, Mustafizur Rahman, Shakib Al Hasan
Bangladesh to play Lions. Photo Credit: Getty Images

Bangladesh squad:

Shakib Al Hasan (c), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Abu Hider, Abu Jayed, Ariful Haque, Mahedi Hasan, Zakir Hasan, Afif Hossain.

Here’s the newsfeed:

T20 Tri-Series: Groin Injury Rules Eoin Morgan Out of Australia Clash

SA vs IND, 2018: Gavaskar believes Kohli’s battle with Rabada is worth going miles