India Test hopefuls as well as others will have a chance to impress the selectors and get some much-needed practise ahead of the tough tour of Australia, when they fly out to New Zealand with India A for three four-day games against New Zealand A.

After two forgettable overseas tours already this year, India will be looking to end the year on a high when they visit Australia for a four-Test series.  The Virat Kohli-led side have already lost Test series in South Africa and England this year. But they will have a chance to make amends when they visit Australia. India can also create history Down Under, having never won a Test and bilateral ODI series in Australia.

Read More – India vs Windies 2018: BCCI Includes Kedar Jadhav for Last Two ODIs

And to make sure that the players remain in best of form, the BCCI has decided to send A team to New Zealand. The four-day games will help the players get accustomed to the weather and field conditions of that part of the world.

Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane will play for India A in the first game against New Zealand A (Credits: AFP)

India will play three games with New Zealand A. Ajinkya Rahane will lead the side in the first game.  The likes of Murali Vijay, Prithvi Shaw, Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma and Parthiv Patel are a part of the team for the first game. All the players are a part of India’s Test squad for the Australia series.

The game will not only help them get accustomed to conditions but it will also allow them to take an advise or two from India A coach and legendary batsman Rahul Dravid.

Test discard Karun Nair will lead the side in the remaining two games.

Also Read – India vs Windies 2018: We Have Forced India to Bring Back Bumrah, Bhuvi

India A squad for first 4-day game against New Zealand A:

Murali Vijay, Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane (c), Parthiv Patel (wk), Krishnappa Gowtham, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mohammed Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Rajneesh Gurbani, Vijay Shankar, Srikar Bharat

India A squad for last two 4-day games:

Karun Nair(c), Rajneesh Gurbani, Mayank Agarwal, Abhimanyu Easwaran, R Samarth, Ankit Bawne, Shubman Gill, Vijay Shankar, Srikar Bharat, Ishan Kishan, Krishnappa Gowtham, Shabaz Nadeem, Mohammad Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar

India A will also play List A games in New Zealand.

India A squad for List A games:

Mayank Agarwal, Anmolpreet Singh, Shubhman Gill, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Ankeet Bawne, Hardik Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Krunal Pandya, Siddarth Kaul, Deepak Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed

Must Read – Aaron Finch to Replace Tim Paine as ODI Skipper