Chennai Super Kings Will Win IPL Due To Their Spin Attack: Brett Lee

Chennai Super Kings Will Win IPL Due To Their Spin Attack: Brett Lee

CSK (Photo-IPL)

Chennai Super Kings (CSK), one of the most consistent franchises, will be vying for their fourth title in IPL 2020. CSK have seen major success over the year and has been able to qualify for the playoffs on most occasions. The IPL 2020 however will be a new challenge for the franchise and its outcome still remains to be seen.

In UAE, the pitches will be on the slower side and favour the spinners. Australia fast bowling legend Brett Lee has put his money on Chennai Super Kings to win the IPL 2020 banking on their spin attack. Lee also pointed out that with Mitchell Santner already in the ranks Ravindra Jadeja will need to step up to become the No.1 spinner for CSK.
Brett Lee
Brett Lee (Photo Credit: Twitter)

“They (CSK) are up there. I have picked them to win and I think CSK have a good chance because of their spin attack. With Santner, Jadeja needs to step up and be the no. 1 spinner and CSK have got great variety and none of the spinners are same, so they are at an advantage for the conditions in the UAE as the tournament progresses,” Lee said on Star Sports’ show Game Plan.

CSK have dealt with major blows ahead of the season as the veteran players Suresh Raina and Harbhajan Singh have pulled out citing personal reasons. Raina has been the second highest run-scorer in IPL and leaves a major void in the side while Harbhajan Singh could have been handy for the franchise on a slow wicket in UAE with his experience.

IPL 2020, Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings
Image Credits: BCCI

IPL 2020 will be played entirely in UAE due to the pandemic situation forcing the cricket board to host the tournament away from India. Dubai, Abu Dhabi, and Sharjah will be the three venues used for the tournament. Dream 11 have been named as the sponsor for the upcoming season of the tournament after VIVO pulled out.

All the franchise have arrived in UAE with some of the foreign players still to join the squad. Players from England and Australia will join their respective franchises once their ongoing three-match T20I series concludes.

Mumbai Indians have been the most successful team in IPL history. They have clinched the IPL title four times under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma. CSK are the second most successful team with three titles to their name.