Dean Jones, Yuvraj Singh, Rishabh Pant,
Dean Jones. (Image Courtesy: Getty)

Former Australian cricketer Dean Jones has included only one Indian in his all-time dream XI for the Twenty20 format fo the game. Surprisingly, the cricketer-turned commentator has picked a few cricketers who have featured in the T20 format.

The T20s have garnered a lot of attraction since its inception. It is the most loved format and brings a lot of fans to the ground. With the franchise-based leagues going places, T20 cricket has become a household affair. Recently, cricketer-turned commentator Dean Jones has picked his favourite XI in the shortest formats.

Also read: St Lucia Stars Axed From Caribbean Premier League

Australian Matthew Hayden and West Indian Gordon Greenidge will open the batting, and Viv Richards will walk in at number 3. Brian Lara. Martin Crowe and Martin Crowe will form the middle order while former Indian skipper MS Dhoni, who is the only Indian in the team, will be the wicket-keeper batsman.

The former England all-rounder Ian Botham has also found his place in the playing XI. Legendary Australian spinner Shane Warne has also made it to the playing XI. He will be the only spinner in Dean Jones’ team. The bowling unit includes legendary fast bowlers Wasim Akram, Curtly Ambrose and Joel Garner. Among all the players included by Dean Jones, many have not played in the T20s. Citing the reasons, Jones said these players have the pedigree to adapt and adjust to any situation.

Dean Jones’ dream T20 XI:

Matthew Hayden, Gordon Greenidge, Sir Vivian Richards, Brian Lara, Martin Crowe, Ian Botham, MS Dhoni, Shane Warne, Wasim Akram, Curtly Ambrose, Joel Garner

Ankush Das

I am an accountant by qualification, my parents thought their obedient son would study further to become a CA, but I had other things in mind. An ardent Cricket fan is following his passion and making...