Chennai Super Kings’ journey in this year’s IPL came to a heartbreaking end with a thrilling loss to Mumbai Indians.  Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians, two of the most successful teams in the history of the league, locked horns in the title-decider and played out one of the most memorable games in the league. The nail-biter kept the fans on the edge of their seats throughout.

The game went right down to the wire with Super kings needing 9 runs from the last over in pursuit of 150. With Shane Watson at the crease batting on 76 and Ravindra Jadeja giving him company, the Super Kings looked favourites to win the game. For Mumbai, the responsibility was on Lasith Malinga to defend the 8 runs and the veteran delivered.

Google Shows Chennai Super Kings As Champions Of IPL 2019
Credits: IPL

The first three balls went for four runs before Shane Watson was run out while trying to take a double. Shardul Thkaur then dispatched a full-toss for a double before being trapped in front of the wicket with his team needing 2 runs from the final ball.

Also Read: Why Rohit Sharma Deserves to Lead Team India in ODI’s and T20I’s

Super Kings had started their chase on a good note and had raced away to 53 for 1 inside the powerplay. However, Mumbai soon dismissed Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu and MS Dhoni in quick succession to reduce the Super Kings to 82 for 4 from 70 for 1. Watson was waging a lone battle but he too could not take the team over the line.

With that win, Mumbai Indians became the first team to win the IPL four times. However, for Google Chennai Super Kings are the champions of this year’s IPL. While Google is showing that Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in the IPL, they are also showing Chennai Super Kings as the current champions.

Here is the screenshot showing the same:

Google Shows Chennai Super Kings As Champions Of IPL 2019
Credits: Web

An avid cricket lover, I just love this game more than anything. Writing about cricket keeps me closer to the game.