Team India will be eyeing a solid start to their campaign when they take on West Indies in the first Test at Antigua. The Virat Kohli-led side will be the firm favourites to win the game. India have not lost a Test series to West Indies since 2002.  India’s record in recent times is really dominating.

India have the best win-loss ratio and winning percentage in Test cricket since 2016. They won 23 and lost just 8 of the 38 Tests they have played in this period. India also have the best win-loss ratio in terms of series winning 8 of the 10 they played in the period.

During this period, India beat New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Australia, England, West Indies and Bangladesh to assert their authority. Earlier this year, India also won their maiden Test series on the Australian soil. No surprises then that India will be the strong contenders to win the game.

Read More: India vs West Indies 2019: Twitter Slam Indian Team Management For Not Including Rohit Sharma, Ravichandran Ashwin In Playing XI

However, India should guard against complacency against a side which has shown it can punch above its weight in familiar conditions. Earlier this year, West Indies thoroughly outplayed England to register a remarkable series win. If West Indies manage to put up a similar performance, India can face a few problems in the Caribbeans.

Toss Report:

West Indies won the toss and decided to field first against India at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium,North Sound, Antigua.

Here is what the captains said:

Jason Holder:

“‘We will field first. Some moisture in the wicket and we want to take advantage. We have had some solid preparations and are looking forward to this. Every series is a new series, need to do our best. We have a new guy, Shamarh Brooks, who makes his Test debut for us.”

Virat Kohli:

“We were batting first anyway, look to put runs on the board and then attack with the ball. We know what to do in the middle, need to play consistent good cricket, no room for complacency. Mayank and KL will open in this series. Saha, Rohit, Ashwin, Kuldeep and Umesh are not playing today”

Playing elevens:

Read More: Lance Klusener Joins South Africa’s Coaching Staff For India Tour


Mayank Agarwal, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

West Indies:

Kraigg Brathwaite, John Campbell, Shai Hope(w), Shamarh Brooks, Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer, Roston Chase, Jason Holder(c), Miguel Cummins, Shannon Gabriel, Kemar Roach