MSK Prasad-led selection panel, on Monday, announced Team India’s 15-man squad for the upcoming  2019 Cricket World Cup. One of the most surprising decision was their decision to not name any fourth pacer in the squad. The only frontline pacers in the squad are Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Hardik Pandya and Vijay Shankar could roll their arms too.

However, given the pacer-friendly conditions of England, a fourth pacer could have definitely benefitted India. And MSK Prasad said that there are still chances of two bowlers  going to England if the situation arises. The two bowlers are Mohammad Khaleel and Navdeep Saini. Khaleel was tried out by India since last year but he failed to deliver in Australia and New Zealand before being dropped for the home series against Australia. On the other hand, Saini has impressed one and all with his pace in the ongoing IPL.

Navdeep Saini (Credits: IPL)

MSK Prasad revealed the Khaleel and Saini were discussed as back-up pacers and added they would be on stand-by and will fly down to England if the need arises.

“Khaleel and Saini were discussed and they will be around. If the need arises, one of them will go to England,” he said.

India, meanwhile,  begin their World Cup campaign against South Africa in Southampton on June 5. India’s next match will be against defending champions Australia at Kennington Oval, London before they take on New Zealand in Nottingham 4 days later.

The Men in Blue then play the high-profile clash against Pakistan on June 16 in Manchester before returning to Southampton to play Afghanistan on June 22. India will conclude the group stage by playing West Indies (June 27). Bangladesh (July 2) and Sri Lanka (July 6).

Here is India’s squad:

Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Vijay Shankar, MSD (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd Shami