New Zealand Announce Schedule For Home Series Against West Indies, Pakistan, Australia And Bangladesh

New Zealand Cricket, on Tuesday, announced the schedule for their upcoming home season. The Black Caps haven’t played in any format since their ODI series in Australia was cancelled in March due to the Covid-19 pandemic. They will be returning to action in international cricket through their upcoming home season.

It is set to be a blockbuster season as they will host West Indies, Pakistan, Australia and Bangladesh. The season gets underway with a Twenty20 series between the Black Caps and the West Indies, starting on November 27. West Indies will play three T20Is and two tests.

West Indies (Credits: Twitter)

The opening test will be at Seddon Park starting December 3, followed by the second test at the Basin Reserve eight days later. It will be followed by the Test and ODI series between New Zealand and Pakistan. The Asian side will play two tests and two ODIs including a Boxing Day test at Mt Maunganui’s Bay Oval. Christchurch’s Hagley Oval will hold the second test starting January 3.

New Zealand will later host Australia in a five-match T20 series while their first ODI of the season won’t be until March 21 when Bangladesh visit for three ODIs and as many T20Is.

New Zealand government has already granted approval for the first two incoming teams (West Indies and Pakistan) and NZC chief executive David White was confident the other inbound tours would receive the green light.

“I’m thrilled to be making this announcement today, given the uncertainty and difficulties over the past six or seven months,” he said.

“We owe a huge debt of gratitude to the New Zealand government for helping us navigate this complex process.

“Hosting these tours is incredibly important to us for two reasons: international cricket brings in revenue that funds the entire game of cricket in New Zealand and, also, it’s crucial that we look after the fans of the game and sport in general, especially during these difficult times,” he added.

Australia vs New Zealand (Credits: Twitter)

International cricket finally resumed in July this year after action around the world came to a standstill in March in the wake of the coronavirus outbreak. England’s home Test series against West Indies was the series that marked the resumption of international cricket. England then went on to host Pakistan, Ireland and Australia too.

Here is the schedule for New Zealand’s upcoming home season:

New Zealand’s home schedule for 2020-21 season (Credits: NZ Herald)

CA Editor

Recent Posts

India vs England 2021: 4th Test, Ahmedabad- Toss Report

The toss for the 4th Test between India and England is due in a while.…

6 mins ago

PSL 2021, Match 15: Lahore Qalandars vs Islamabad United – When and Where to Watch, Live Streaming Details

In the 15th match of the PSL 2021, Lahore Qalandars and Islamabad United will take…

9 hours ago

India vs England 2021, 4th Test: When And Where To Watch, Live Streaming Details

The hosts India and the visitors England are now ready for the last game of…

11 hours ago

It Was A Tough Pill To Swallow Being Dropped, Says Dom Bess; Insists He Is In A ‘Great Space To Come Back In’

England spinner Dom Bess has said that it was extremely difficult for him to accept…

11 hours ago

Everyone Fit And Available To Play, Joe Root Clarifies After Reports Surfaced Of England Team Hit By Stomach Bug

England captain Joe Root has clarified that all England players are fit and raring to…

11 hours ago

This website uses cookies.