Tim Paine, Virat Kohli
Tim Paine and Virat Kohli (Credits: Twitter)

India, on Monday, announced their squads for the upcoming tour of Australia. India are scheduled to play three ODIs, three T20Is and four Tests during the much-awaited tour. The series will mark the resumption of cricket for Team India. Virat Kohli & Co. have not played a game since the tour of New Zealand ended in early March before the coronavirus pandemic halted action around the globe.

For the Test squad, Rohit Sharma has been a surprising omission. The right-handed batsman is currently in the UAE for the ongoing IPL where is sidelined from the last week with a hamstring injury. In their statement, Mumbai Indians had hinted that the injury was not that serious and the right-handed batsman is on track to play in the tournament again.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma [Photo-Getty]
Mayank Agarwal and Prithvi Shaw are the two designated openers in the squad while uncapped Shubman Gill has also earned a call. Another opening candidate, KL Rahul has returned to the Test squad for the first time since being dropped after the West Indies tour last week.


Fast-bowlers Navdeep Saini and Mohammed Siraj have earned his maiden Test call-ups while Ishant Sharma has missed out due to the injury he sustained in the IPL. The core players of the teams have retained their places.

Navdeep Saini
Navdeep Saini (Credits: Twitter)

India’s tour of Australia will start with the three-match ODI series. The first two ODIs on November 27 and 29 will be played at the Sydney Cricket Ground, while the third ODI and first T20I will take place at the Manuka Oval. Thereafter, the teams return to Sydney for the remaining two T20Is.

India, Australia
India, Australia (Credits: Getty)

As far as the Test series is concerned, the pink ball Test is scheduled to be held at Adelaide Oval between December 17-21. This will also remain as the backup venue for the Boxing Day Test, if Melbourne is not able to host it due to Covid-19 restrictions. The final two Tests will be held in Sydney (January 7-11) finally Brisbane (January 15-19).

India’s Test squad:

Virat Kohli (Capt), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar, Ajinkya(vc), Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Mohammed Siraj