Ramiz Raja Produces Payslip Of India's 1983 World Cup Winning Squad

Ramiz Raja Produces Payslip Of India’s 1983 World Cup Winning Squad

Virender Sehwag Reminisces India's 1983 World Cup Victory. Credit: Twitter

A first is always special. It has been 37 years since India lifted their first World Cup but the memories of the showpiece event are still fresh in the mind of cricket lovers. The 1983 World Cup triumph was special for India, not only as a first, but also because it changed the face of cricket in the country.

India lifted their maiden World Cup after beating the West Indies by 43 runs. Kapil Dev, the most impact player of the quadrennial, became the first Indian captain to lead the national team to a World Cup triumph. Years after India got their hands on the most valuable trophy in international cricket, former Pakistan cricket Ramiz Raja produced the payslip for India’s squad from the quadrennial showpiece.

1983 World Cup (Courtesy: Twitter)
1983 World Cup (Courtesy: Twitter)

The payslip reveals that every player was paid a total of Rs. 2100, which was the sum total of a match fee and daily allowance combined. Raja put out the payslip on display via a Tweet and said that he will try to produce the payslip of what Pakistan earned in the 1986-87 Test, adding that it was nearly Rs.55000 for five Tests and six ODIs.

“Had to reproduce this… will try to get a copy of what we got paid for the Indian tour in 86-87. I remember it to this date what I got: played 5 Tests and 6 ODI’s and got paid Rs 55000,” Ramiz Raja tweeted.

At the 1983 World Cup, West Indies were the side to beat in the 1983 World Cup. Opting to field, the world beaters had a morale victory at the toss. India managed to score 183 runs as they were bundled out in 54.4 overs with Sir Andy Roberts picking up a three-wicket haul while Malcolm Marshall and Michael Holding returned two wickets each. Kris Srikkanth top scored for India with 38 runs while Sandeep Patil (27) and Mohinder Amarnath (26) playing some important cameos.

The chase for the World Cup, however, looked like a daunting task for the Clive Lloyd-led side. West Indies lost their openers early with Vivian Richards holding the fort for the side with a 33-run knock. However, Madan Lal, Roger Binny and Mohinder Amarnath ran through the West Indies top to lower order, to help India record history.