Ricky Ponting Explains R Ashwin 'Batsman Should Be Given Run Penalty For Leaving Crease Early'
/

Ricky Ponting Explains R Ashwin ‘Batsman Should Be Given Run Penalty For Leaving Crease Early’

Ricky Ponting (Courtesy: Instagram)
Ricky Ponting (Courtesy: Instagram)

The remark from Delhi Capital head coach Ricky Ponting to disallow R Ashwin from mankading in IPL 2020 has created a lot of furore in the cricketing folklore. Former Australia captain Ricky Ponting believes that mankading is not in the spirit of the game and has thus wanted to discuss about the same with Ashwin.

Mankading comes into play to effectively stop a batsman from stealing a few yards before a bowler gets into his action. Ponting said that Ashwin is justified in using his mankading technique as it is within the rules but there should be new rule is place which can give a run penalty to the batsmen.

Ricky Ponting
Ricky Ponting [Photo-Getty]
“Yeah, I totally get where you are coming from,” Ponting told Ashwin when asked for his views on the run-out during his diary show. “I wasn’t trying to say that you were [not] justified because it is actually in the laws of the game. You can do it. So if a batsman is cheating, and trying to steal a couple of yards…

“I just think that we have got to find a way around. Trying to stop the batsman cheating. We have had this conversation already. I don’t want to see anyone running two or three yards down the wicket [before the ball is delivered]. Because that basically is cheating.”

Ravichandran Ashwin, Jos Buttler
Ravichandran Ashwin mankading Jos Buttler (Credits: BCCI)

According to the rules mankading is well within the limits. The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) rule book, the 41.16 Law says: Non-striker leaving his/her ground early states, “If the non-striker is out of his/her ground from the moment the ball comes into play to the instant when the bowler would normally have been expected to release the ball, the bowler is permitted to attempt to run him/her out. Whether the attempt is successful or not, the ball shall not count as one in the over.

“If the bowler fails in an attempt to run out the non-striker, the umpire shall call and signal Dead ball as soon as possible.”

Watch the video here: