Sourav Ganguly
Sourav Ganguly (Credits - Getty)

The Electoral Officer of Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) on Thursday declared that the Sourav Ganguly-led panel won uncontested for another term. As a result, the office-bearers will hold their chair after the annual general meeting on Saturday.

Read More: Suresh Raina Hopeful To Solve India’s No 4 Problems

As a result, former India skipper Sourav Ganguly will retain his position as the President of CAB. He will occupy the chair at least until July 2020 before entering a ‘cooling-off period’ as per the BCCI constitution. As per the order of the Committee of Administrators, CAB will hold their 85th AGM on Saturday.

“I, Electoral Officer of The Cricket Association of Bengal do hereby declare and certify that the following persons have stood uncontested to the following Posts,” Susanta Ranjan Upadhaya said in a document released by CAB.

Sourav Ganguly Re-elected As Cricket Association Of Bengal President
Sourav Ganguly. (Credits: AFP)

Read More: Rishabh Pant Will Learn And Get Better With Time – Sourav Ganguly

Thus, this will be Sourav Ganguly’s second term as the CAB President. Ganguly took over the role of the President of CAB after the death of Jagmohan Dalmiya in 2015. The former cricketer joined the Bengal cricket body in 2014 as the joint-secretary. His six years as office-bearer will come to an end in July 2020, which is 10 months from now.

Jagmohan Dalmiya’s son Abhishek Dalmiya will get a promotion and will hold the chair of a secretary. On the other hand, Debabrata Das of Town Club will take over the post of joint secretary. Veteran administrator Naresh Ojha will be the only vice-president now while Debashis Ganguly is the treasurer. They will take charge after the AGM on Saturday.

Read More: Yuvraj Singh Expresses Disappointment Over U-Turn From Selectors

The CAB panel:

President: Sourav Ganguly; Vice-president: Naresh Ojha; Secretary: Abhishek Dalmiya; Joint secretary: Debabrata Das; Treasurer: Debasish Ganguly.

Read More: Looking Forward To Play My First Test At Home – Hanuma Vihari

Councillors of Apex Council:

Ardhendu Kumar Ghosh, Goutam Goswami, Joydeep Kolay, Mintu Das, Numazar Mehta, Prabir Chakraborty, Rajib Ghosh, Samrat Bhowmick, Sanjoy Dutta, Subrata Saha, Susanta Banerjee.

Ankush Das

I am an accountant by qualification, my parents thought their obedient son would study further to become a CA, but I had other things in mind. An ardent Cricket fan is following his passion and making...