Sri Lanka Cricket Team, Kumar Sangakkara
Kumar Sangakkara. Getty Images.

Finally, Sri Lanka has taken the decision to honour the former cricketers of their country by naming stands after them. They have decided to name stands after the legendary cricketers Arjun Ranatunga, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Aravinda de Silva and Muttiah Muralitharan. It will be named in iconic venues R Premadasa Stadium and Pallekele Stadium.

Read More: Yuvraj Singh Joins Maratha Arabians For Abu Dhabi T10 League

The game of cricket has seen many legendary names over a century of international cricket. Yet, strangely, not many grounds have been named after cricketers — most of who have, at best, find their names on stands. Thankfully, after a fine time, Sri Lanka removed the names of their stunning performers, who made the world cricket stand and applause for them.

Sri Lanka Cricket Team, Kumar Sangakkara
Muttiah Muralitharan. Credit: Getty Images

The three stands in R Premadasa Stadium will witness the names of the stands after Arjun Ranatunga, Aravinda de Silva and Mahela Jayawardene. While a couple of stands in Pallekele Stadium will have their stands named after Muttiah Muralitharan and Kumar Sangakkara.

Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene are stars for a decade and a half:

Kumar Sangakkara, an artistic stroke player, a stable keeper, a shrewd thinker, was the foundation of Sri Lankan cricket for close to 15 years. After playing close to 500 international games for his country, the all-time great cricketer played his final game in a Test against India at Colombo (PSS) in 2015.

Sri Lanka Cricket Stands
Mahela Jayawardene. Credit: Google

And also, Arjuna Ranatunga’s leadership was solely responsible for lifting the island nation to dizzying heights of world domination on the cricket field after securing world cup in 1996. Meanwhile, Mahela Jayawardene, a masterful technician flowing class, has been the lynchpin of the Sri Lankan batting line-up for the last decade and more.

Read More: Schedule For ICC U19 World Cup 2020 Announced

Much to the same, Aravinda de Silva and Muttiah Muralitharan has raised to the great heights during their times. In particular, Murali has been sensational, who is still an all-time highest wicket-taker in International Cricket. All in all, it was a nice gesture from the Sri Lanka Cricket.

Prashanth Relangi

I just love what I script. Over the years, Cricket has been my passion and crisping articles on it gives me an immense pleasure...Cheers...!!!