Afghanistan Team
Afghanistan Team (Image Credit: Twitter)

Afghanistan T20 World Cup Squad 2021, Schedule, Date, Time, And Venue. The seventh edition of the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 is all set to commence from October 17. Meanwhile, the summit clash will take place on November 14. Notably, the tournament was scheduled to begin in India.

The ICC later shifted it to the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and OMAN due to the Covid-19 scare in India. Notably, Team Afghanistan made an entry in the Super 12s of the marquee event through direct qualification.

Meanwhile, Afghanistan is placed in Group 2 of ICC T20 World Cup 2021. Alongside India, New Zealand, and Pakistan they will be joined by 2 other teams from the qualifier stage. Also, team Afghanistan will lock horns with the winner of Group B in Round 1, on October 25 at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

Afghanistan Will Be Eying On Winning World Cup Under The Leadership Of Mohammad Nabi

Rashid Khan and Mohammad Nabi
Credits: Twitter

There was a question mark over the participation of Afghanistan in the ICC T20 World Cup after the Taliban takeover in the country. However, reports have emerged that the team will definitely participate in the tournament.

Currently, Afghanistan is placed on the 7th spot in the ICC T20 international rankings. Once the team enters the tournament all eyes will be on big names like Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, and Mohammad Nabi. The above-mentioned players will have a big responsibility on their back.

Notably, Afghanistan has never won an ICC T20 World Cup Trophy and never even made it to the finals of the marquee event. However, under the leadership of Mohammad Nabi, they will be hoping for a better outcome in the upcoming T20 World Cup 2021.

Meanwhile, there was a lot of chaos during the announcement of the squad as the Afghanistan Cricket Board ( ACB). ACB named Rashid Khan as their captain for the T20 world cup 2021. Rashid Khan soon came up with a tweet stating that he will be leaving the captaincy. Post that, ACB announced that Mohammad Nabi will be the captain of the team.

Afghanistan’s Squad For The Upcoming T20 World Cup 2021:

T20 World Cup
Afghanistan Cricket Team (Image Credit: Twitter)

Mohammad Nabi ( C ), Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Karim Janat, Hazratullah Zazai, Gulbadin Naib, Usman Ghani, Naveen ul Haq, Asghar Afghan, Hamid Hassan, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Najibullah Zadran, Dawlat Zadran, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Shapoor Zadran, Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Qais Ahmad. Reserves: Afsar Zazai, Fareed Ahmad

The Complete schedule of Afghanistan for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2021:

25 October 2021: vs Qualifier (B1), Sharjah (07:30 PM IST)

29 October  2021: vs Pakistan, Dubai (7:30 PM IST)

31 October 2021: vs Qualifier (A2), Abu Dhabi (3:30 PM IST)

3 November 2021: vs India, Abu Dhabi (07:30 PM IST)

7 November 2021: vs New Zealand, Abu Dhabi (03:30 PM IST)

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2021: Gautam Gambhir’s India XI For Match Against Pakistan