Afghanistan's Naveen-ul-Haq

Last Update on: October 24th, 2021 at 02:35 pm

Afghanistan is coming into the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 super 12 stages with a much-needed win in their second warm-up fixture against West Indies. They managed to win at least one of their warm-up games and they will be riding high on confidence after the convincing win against the defending champions. They will fancy their chances in a group they are in rather than group 1 which is highly competitive.

Afghanistan is scheduled to start their campaign against Scotland tomorrow and they will be looking to kick start their tournament with a win. They will know that Namibia and Scotland might not be the biggest threats and if they manage to win at least one of their games against New Zealand, India, and Pakistan, then their case becomes strong. Here is the Afghanistan Squad And Schedule, Groups, Time, And Venue for the ICC T20 World Cup 2021.

Afghanistan National Cricket Team. Image Credits: Twitter

Also Read – T20 World Cup 2021: Wasim Akram Asks Teams To Be Wary Of Afghanistan, Especially In The T20 Format

Afghanistan Squad For ICC T20 World Cup 2021:

Afghanistan cricket board named a 15 member squad for the T20 World Cup 2021 along with 4 traveling reserves with the squad.

Squad: Mohammad Nabi (c), Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Hazratullah Zazai, Usman Ghani, Mohammad Shahzad, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Asghar Afghan, Gulbadin Naib, Najibullah Zadran, Karim Janat, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Hamid Hassan, Farid Ahmed Malik, Naveen ul Haq.

Reserves: Sharafuddin Ashraf, Samiullah Shinwari, Dawlat Zadran, Fazal Haq Farooqi.

Afghanistan Schedule And Groups For ICC T20 World Cup 2021:

Afghanistan is placed in group 2 comprising of  India, New Zealand, and Pakistan, Scotland, and Namibia, and Afghanistan have a relative chance of making the semis if they produce upsets against the powerhouses.

Group A Group B
Sri Lanka National Cricket Team Bangladesh National Cricket Team
Round 1 Ireland National Cricket Team Scotland National Cricket Team
The Netherlands National Cricket Team Papua New Guinea National Cricket Team
Nambia National Cricket Team Oman National Cricket Team

*Top two teams from each group advance to Super 12s

Group 1 Group 2
England National Cricket Team India National Cricket Team
Australia National Cricket Team New Zealand National Cricket Team
Super 12s South Africa National Cricket Team Pakistan National Cricket Team
West Indies National Cricket Team Afghanistan National Cricket Team
Sri Lanka National Cricket Team Namibia National Cricket Team
Bangladesh National Cricket Team Scotland National Cricket Team
Afghanistan Team
Afghanistan Team (Image Credit: Twitter)

Also Read – I Never Made A Statement That I Will Marry Once I Win The World Cup For Afghanistan: Rashid Khan

Afghanistan Complete Schedule, Time And Venue

25 October 2021 – Afghanistan vs Scotland – 19:30 PM – Sharjah

29 October 2021 – Afghanistan v Pakistan – 19:30 PM – Dubai

31 October 2021 – Afghanistan v Namibia – 15:30 PM – Abu Dhabi

3 November 2021 – Afghanistan v India – 19:30 – Abu Dhabi

7 November 2021 – Afghanistan v New Zealand -15:30 – Abu Dhabi

Aghanistan Cricket Team, T20 World Cup 2021
Afghanistan Cricket Team. Credits: Twitter.

Also, Read – Mohammad Nabi Recognizes Tough Job In Hands Ahead Of Leading Afghanistan In T20 World Cup 2021