ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Afghanistan Squad And Schedule, Groups, Time And Venue

Last Update on: October 17th, 2021 at 03:21 pm

Afghanistan over the years has been the most improved side going on international cricket and they will be looking to make a big statement in the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2021. A lot of doubts had prevailed over their participation in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 after the Taliban had taken over the country and it will be a huge relief for them to make it to the big tournament. They will be eager to show their immense talent in the tournament.

Afghanistan have earlier named Rashid Khan as the skipper of the side but he had opted out of captaincy with some displeasure with the board and experienced T20 campaigner Mohammad Nabi has been named as the skipper of the side for the ICC T20 World Cup 2021. They can defeat any big side on their day and here is the Afghanistan Squad And Schedule, Groups, Time, And Venue in ICC T20 World Cup 2021.

Afghanistan Cricket Team(Image Credit: Twitter)

Also Read – ICC Acting CEO Geoff Allardice Reveals That Afghanistan’s Participation In T20 World Cup Is Proceeding As Normal

Afghanistan Squad For ICC T20 World Cup 2021:

Afghanistan cricket board named a 15 member squad for the T20 World Cup 2021 along with 4 travelling reserves with the squad.

Squad: Mohammad Nabi (c), Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Hazratullah Zazai, Usman Ghani, Mohammad Shahzad, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Asghar Afghan, Gulbadin Naib, Najibullah Zadran, Karim Janat, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Hamid Hassan, Farid Ahmed Malik, Naveen ul Haq.

Reserves: Sharafuddin Ashraf, Samiullah Shinwari, Dawlat Zadran, Fazal Haq Farooqi.

Also Read- T20 World Cup 2021: Andy Flower Joins Afghanistan Cricket Team As A Consultant

Afghanistan National Cricket Team. Image Credits: Twitter

Afghanistan Schedule And Groups For ICC T20 World Cup 2021:

Afghanistan is placed in group 2 comprising of  India, New Zealand and Pakistan and two more teams will be added to the group from the winners of the Round 1 fixture.

Group A Group B
Sri Lanka National Cricket Team Bangladesh National Cricket Team
Round 1 Ireland National Cricket Team Scotland National Cricket Team
The Netherlands National Cricket Team Papua New Guinea National Cricket Team
Nambia National Cricket Team Oman National Cricket Team

*Top two teams from each group advance to Super 12s

Group 1 Group 2
England National Cricket Team India National Cricket Team
Australia National Cricket Team New Zealand National Cricket Team
Super 12s South Africa National Cricket Team Pakistan National Cricket Team
West Indies National Cricket Team Afghanistan National Cricket Team
A1 A2
B2 B1

Afghanistan Complete Schedule, Time And Venue

25 October 2021 – Afghanistan vs B1 – 19:30 PM – Sharjah

29 October 2021 – Afghanistan v Pakistan – 19:30 PM – Dubai

31 October 2021 – Afghanistan v A2 – 15:30 PM – Abu Dhabi

3 November 2021 – Afghanistan v India – 19:30 – Abu Dhabi

7 November 2021 – Afghanistan v New Zealand -15:30 – Abu Dhabi

Afghanistan Team, ICC T20 World Cup 2021
Afghanistan Team (Image Credit: Twitter)

Also Read – Mohammad Nabi Recognizes Tough Job In Hands Ahead Of Leading Afghanistan In T20 World Cup 2021