Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli
Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli (Image Credit: Twitter)

India are scheduled to play New Zealand in three T20 Internationals and two Test matches.

After drawing enough flak for the player’s schedule management in the aftermath of India’s T20 World Cup exit, the BCCI is likely to rest some key players for the New Zealand Tests.

Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane in Test captaincy toss-up

According to a report from the Times of India, India’s regular skipper Virat Kohli will be rested for the first Test in Kanpur only to come back in the second match in Mumbai.

There is a dilemma for the selectors and the new head coach Rahul Dravid about naming the Test captain in Kohli’s absence.

Ajinkya Rahane and Rohit Sharma
Ajinkya Rahane and Rohit Sharma (Image Credit: Twitter)

According to the report, the selectors are puzzled about naming the stand-in skipper between Mumbai players Ajinkya Rahane and Rohit Sharma.

Rahane is India’s vice-captain in red-ball cricket and also led the team to a historic Test series in Australia earlier this year in Kohli’s absence.

Rohit, who was named the T20I skipper for the New Zealand series, is being considered to replace Rahane as the vice-captain in Test cricket, according to some media reports.

Rahane led the Mumbai team in the Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy, and they bowed out in the group fixture after losing to Karnataka and Chattisgarh.

Ajinkya Rahane with the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (Photo- Twitter)
Ajinkya Rahane with the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (Photo- Twitter)

Senior pacers to rest for New Zealand Test series

Rohit Sharma has rouse to the occasion to instill himself as a Test opener for India after struggling in the format nearly for seven years.

Rohit’s last Test series in England gave the testament about his skills and maturity to adapt as a batsman. He registered his first overseas Test hundred in the fourth Test at Oval.

Apart from Kohli, pace bowlers Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami and Shardul Thakur are also said to be rested for the two-match Test series.

The first Test between India and New Zealand starts on November 25 at the Greenpark Stadium in Kanpur.

Also Read: Rahul Dravid And Rohit Sharma Will Have Identified A New Template For 2022 T20 World Cup: VVS Laxman