Afghanistan National Cricket Team. Image Credits: Twitter

The seventh edition of the International Cricket Council (ICC) T20 World Cup 2021 is all set to commence from October 17 and the summit clash will take place on 14 November. Notably, the tournament was scheduled to begin in India.

However, it was shifted to the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and OMAN due to the Covid-19 scare in the country. Notably, Team Afghanistan is placed in Group B and they made an entry in the Super 12s of the marquee event through direct qualification.

Aghanistan Cricket Team
Afghanistan Cricket Team. Credits: Twitter.

Afghanistan is placed in Group 2 of ICC T20 World Cup 2021, alongside India, New Zealand, and Pakistan they will be joined by 2 other teams from the qualifier stage. Meanwhile, team Afghanistan will lock horns with the winner of Group B in Round 1 on October 25 at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium. After that on October 29, 2021, they will face Pakistan in Dubai.

There was no confirmation on the participation of Afghanistan in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 after the Taliban takeover in the country. However, reports have emerged that the team will participate in the tournament. Currently, Afghanistan is placed on the 7th spot in the ICC T20 international rankings.

T20 World Cup
Afghanistan Cricket Team[photo: Twitter]
Once the team enters the tournament all eyes will be on big names like Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, and Mohammad Nabi. The above-mentioned players will have a big responsibility on their back. Especially, Rashid Khan who is currently one of the best spinners in the world will have to give excellent performance for his team.

Notably, Afghanistan has never won an ICC T20 World Cup Trophy and never even made it to the finals of the marquee event. However, under the leadership of Gulbadin Naib, they will be hoping for better performance in the upcoming T20 World Cup 2021.

Also Read: 5 Bowlers With The Most Wickets In T20 Internationals

 Predicted Afghanistan Squad For T20 World Cup 2021:

T20 World Cup
Afghanistan Team (Image Credit: Twitter)

Gulbadin Naib (c), Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Noor Ali Zadran, Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmat Shah, Asghar Afghan, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Najibullah Zadran, Samiullah Shinwari, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Dawlat Zadran, Aftab Alam, Hamid Hassan, Mujeeb ur Rahman.

Complete schedule of Afghanistan for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2021:

October 25, 2021: vs Qualifier (B1), Sharjah (07:30 PM IST)

October 29, 2021: vs Pakistan, Dubai (7:30 PM IST)

October 31, 2021: vs Qualifier (A2), Abu Dhabi (3:30 PM IST)

November 3, 2021: vs India, Abu Dhabi (07:30 PM IST)

November 7: vs New Zealand, Abu Dhabi (03:30 PM IST)

Also Read: The Last Thing You Want To Do Is Give Someone Your Spot, Asserts Ollie Pope