New Zealand Team, ICC T20 World Cup 2021
New Zealand Team (Image Credit: Twitter

The seventh edition of the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 is all set to begin on October 17 and the final of the tournament will take place on November 14. Notably, the tournament was shifted to the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and OMAN due to the Covid-19 scare in India. However, BCCI still holds hosting rights. Meanwhile, Team New Zealand led by Kane Williamson will be a team to watch out for.

The Kane Williamson-led New Zealand always enters the big ICC events with the tag of the underdog and does something stunning to earn praise from the cricket experts. They have been consistently performing well for the last few years in white-ball cricket.

Kane Williamson
Kane Williamson (Image Credit: Getty)

As they reached finals of 50-over World Cup in 2015 and 2019. Also in the purest form of the game, they have been performing exceptionally well. Recently, they participated in the finals of ICC World Test Championship (WTC) 2021 against Virat Kohli-led India and they won the inaugural champions.

Bangladesh vs New Zealand Live Streaming
Bangladesh vs New Zealand. Image Credits: Twitter

New Zealand is placed in Group B of the tournament, alongside India, Afghanistan, and Pakistan. Notably, Team New Zealand has won four back-to-back T20 international series. However, they are having a terrible run in the ongoing 5-match T20I series against Bangladesh. In the first match, they got bowled out on 60 and lost the game by 7 wickets. Meanwhile, in the 2nd T20I, they lost the game by 4 runs.

So far the Blackcaps haven’t won the ICC T20 World Cup trophy. However, looking at the team’s recent performance there is no doubt that they have full potential to win the T20 World Cup 2021. Also, new faces like Devon Conway and Kyle Jamieson are expected to play a huge role for Kiwis in the T20 World Cup 2021. Meanwhile, Veterans like Kane Williamson and Martin Guptill will provide much-needed experience.

New Zealand’s complete squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2021:

Kane Williamson, New Zealand
Image Source: Twitter

Kane Williamson (c), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Adam Milne (injury cover).

Team New Zealand’s complete schedule for ICC T20 World Cup 2021

Tuesday, October 26, 2021: vs Pakistan, at Sharjah Cricket Stadium, in Sharjah. (7:30 PM IST)

Sunday, October 31, 2021: vs India, at Dubai International Cricket Stadium, in Dubai. (7:30 PM IST)

Wednesday, November 3, 2021: vs Qualifier (B1), at Dubai International Cricket Stadium, in Dubai. (3:30 PM IST)

Friday, November 5, 2021: vs Qualifier (A2), at Sharjah Cricket Stadium, in Sharjah. (3:30 PM IST)

Sunday, November 7, 2021: vs Afghanistan, at Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi. (3:30 PM IST)

Also Read: I’ve Made It Pretty Clear To Marcus Stoinis About The Role He’s Going To Play For Delhi Capitals – Ricky Ponting