ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Watch – Australia's Historical First-Ever T20 World Cup Title Winning Moment
ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Watch – Australia's Historical First-Ever T20 World Cup Title Winning Moment

Australia have won the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 championship by defeating Kane Williamson-led New Zealand National Cricket Team by 8 wickets at Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Sunday, 14 November.

Notably, Australia are the most successful team in the ODI World Cups having won it 5 times but this was their first-ever T20 World Cup title win.

They were heading into the T20 World Cup 2021 with 5 consecutive series losses, Australia lost 2-1 vs England, 2-1 vs India, 3-2 vs New Zealand, 4-1 vs West Indies, 4-1 vs Bangladesh. However, they won the World Cup.

Kane Williamson and Aaron Finch, T20 World Cup
Kane Williamson and Aaron Finch (Credits: Twitter)

Meanwhile, Both New Zealand and Australia were entering the final battle having lost only one game each in the marquee tournament. New Zealand lost the tournament opener against Pakistan and Australia lost against England. Meanwhile, In the semi-finals, New Zealand defeated England by 5-wickets and Australia defeated Pakistan by 5-wickets both teams won by chasing the target in 19 overs.

Australia Completes The Chase In 18.5 Overs To Clinch The Maiden T20 World Title

David Warner
David Warner. Credits: Twitter

Australia won the toss and opted to field first and they made no changes in the playing XI and fielded the same team. On the other hand, New Zealand Wicketkeeper-batsman Devon Conway who is ruled out of the Final of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 as well as the subsequent tour of India after a self-inflicted fracture in the right hand was replaced by wicketkeeper-batsman Tim Seifert in playing XI.

Daryl Mitchell and Martin Guptill opened the innings for the Blackcaps and the latter smashed a boundary in the second ball of the first over bowled by the left-arm pacer. Josh Hazlewood delivered the second over and he gave only 4 runs and bowled 5 dot balls. Pacer Josh Hazlewood got the first breakthrough for Australia as he dismissed semi-final star performer Daryl Mitchell (11) in the 5th ball of the 4th over. In the 5th and 6th overs, New Zealand batters managed to score only 4 runs and they were at 32/1 in the 6 overs.

Then Skipper Kane Williamson and Martin Guptill batted cautiously and they managed to score only 57 runs in 10 overs. The 11th over was a big one from New Zealand’s perspective as they scored 19 runs against Mitchell Starc.

Meanwhile, in the next over Adam Zampa dismissed Martin Guptill. Opener Guptill played a very poor knock of 28 runs off 35 balls. The 100 runs milestone was achieved by the Blackcaps in the 14th over.

In the 16th over Kane Williamson once again went berserk against Mitchell Starc and smashed 22 runs. However, after playing an exceptional 85 runs innings captain Williamson got out in the 18th over. In the end, New Zealand posted 172 runs on the board.

Mitchell Marsh, David Warner
Mitchell Marsh, David Warner (Image: ICC Twitter)

Chasing the target skipper Aaron Finch failed to play a good knock and he got out after scoring only 5 runs. However, David Warner and Mitchell Marsh batted brilliantly and helped Australia score 82 runs in 10 overs. David Warner got out after scoring 53 but Mitchell Marsh stood strong till the very end and scored 77 runs. All-rounder Glenn Maxwell finished off the match by smashing reverse-swat for a boundary.

After the victory, Marsh yelled out a loud roar and leg-spinner Adam Zampa was the first one to run to the middle to join the batters and Coach Justin Langer was relieved and was seen smiling after helping Australia win the World title.

Also Read: This Is Something That The Governments Have To Work On – Sourav Ganguly On Resumption Of India-Pakistan Bilateral Cricket

Watch – Australia’s Historical First-Ever T20 World Cup Title Winning Moment: