Cricket Australia's WTC Team of the Tournament
Cricket Australia's WTC Team of the Tournament (PC:

Last Update on: June 4th, 2023 at 11:59 am

Cricket Australia has unveiled their Team of the Tournament for the ICC World Test Championship (WTC) 2021-23, recognizing the standout performers from the two-year cycle. The team comprises players who excelled in various conditions and features three Indian cricketers.

Opening the batting is Australia’s Usman Khawaja, who returned to the national side in stellar form, scoring six centuries and amassing 1,608 runs at an average of 69.91. Sri Lanka’s Dimuth Karunaratne joins him at the top, having displayed remarkable consistency over the two years with two centuries and 1,054 runs.

ICC World Test Championship Final | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | Asia Cup 2023 | ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 | IND vs AFG 2023 | IND vs WI 2023

Pakistan’s Babar Azam, widely regarded as one of the best batsmen in the world, occupies the crucial number three spot. Azam’s impressive record includes in this WTC cycle includes four centuries and 1,527 runs at an average of 61.08. England’s Joe Root, who played the most matches in the WTC cycle, secures his place at number four with eight centuries and 1,915 runs to his name.

Also Read: ICC World Test Championship Final: ” Rohit Sharma’s Role Will Be Very Crucial” – Dilip Vengsarkar Issues Stern Statement On Indian Skipper Before WTC Final

Travis Head of Australia, known for his aggressive middle-order batting, claims the number five position. Head’s attacking style and three centuries propelled him to 1,208 runs at an average of 52.52.

ICC World Test Championship Final | WTC Final 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs AFG 2023 | IND vs WI 2023 | Asia Cup 2023 | ICC World Cup 2023

Ravindra Jadeja, Rishabh Pant, And Ravi Ashwin Make it Into Cricket Australia’s WTC Team Of The Tournament

Indian all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, showcasing his prowess with both bat and ball, earns a spot at number six with 673 runs, two centuries, and 43 wickets. Wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant of India, who impressed with his dynamic stroke play, dons the gloves at number seven.

Pant amassed 868 runs in the WTC cycle, including two centuries, at an average of 43.40. The specialist spinner role goes to India’s Ravichandran Ashwin, who claimed 61 wickets at an average of 19.67.

Also Read: ICC World Test Championship Final: “International Cricket Doesn’t Have The Monopoly On Players’ Time” – Pat Cummins Speaks On Franchise Cricket’s Control Before WTC Final

Leading the team and spearheading the pace attack is Australia’s Pat Cummins, who captained his side and performed consistently, taking 53 wickets at an average of 21.22. Accompanying him is South Africa’s Kagiso Rabada, who claimed 67 wickets at an average of 21.05 with an impressive strike rate of 34.8. England’s James Anderson, defying age with his skill and experience, completes the lineup with 58 wickets at an average of 20.37.

Also Read: ICC World Test Championship Final: “Shubman Gill Is One Of The Most Talented Cricketers” – Former India Opener Murali Vijay Speaks On Indian Youngster’s Emergence

The Team of the Tournament reflects the outstanding performances witnessed in the WTC cycle and showcases the talent and skill of these cricketers. With the highly anticipated final between Australia and India on the horizon, the stage is set for these exceptional players to further cement their status as the best in the world.

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah