India vs bangladesh 2022 1st Test
Photo Credit: (BCCI)

India vs Bangladesh Match Preview- 1st Test. India takes on Bangladesh in the first of the two-match Test series in Chattogram. The match will be played from December 14-18 with both sides requiring points to move up the ladder in the ongoing WTC. India holds the 4th spot with a PCT of 52.08. They are active in the race to the final. Bangladesh is placed in the last 9th spot with a PCT of 13.33. Bangladesh is out of the race to the final.

Bangladesh registered back-to-back ODI series wins against India. They last won 2-1 in 2015 and followed it with another 2-1 win in 2022. The Tigers won the first ODI by one wicket and the second ODI by five runs. India made a comeback in the third ODI to finish the series at 2-1.

IPL 2023 | India tour of Bangladesh 2022 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score

Bangladesh National Cricket Team
Bangladesh National Cricket Team (PC-Getty Images)

IND vs BAN 1st Test begins on December 14 (Sunday). The venue of the clash is Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram. The IND vs BAN 2nd Test starts on December 22 (Thursday). The venue of the match is Shere Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka. KL Rahul will lead India while Shakib Al Hasan will lead Bangladesh.

India vs Bangladesh
(Surjeet Yadav/IANS)

Both teams have played against each other in 11 Tests, 38 ODIs, and 11 T20Is. The Tigers have never beaten India in a Test match. In ODIs, India have won 31 matches while the Tigers have won seven games. India and Bangladesh last faced each other in a bilateral series in 2019. During the series, India and Bangladesh played three T20Is and two Tests. India won the T20I series 2-1 and the Test series 2-0.

IPL 2023 Auction | IND vs BAN 2022 | India vs Bangladesh 2022 India National Cricket Team | IND vs SL 2023 | India vs Sri Lanka 2023 | IND vs NZ 2023 India vs New Zealand 2023

India vs Bangladesh Match Preview- 1st Test


IND vs BAN: Rohit Sharma Ruled Out Of 1st Test Match Against Bangladesh
IND vs BAN: Rohit Sharma Ruled Out Of 1st Test Match Against Bangladesh

India are without the regular skipper Rohit Sharma in the first Test. He is ruled out with an injured thumb with KL Rahul leading the side in his absence. Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul Shreyas Iyer, and Ravindra Jadeja. Among bowlers, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, and Umesh Yadav will lead the attack.

Rahul Dravid, Mohammed Shami
Mohammed Shami. Credits: Twitter

Mohammed Shami has not recovered from his shoulder injury yet and is ruled out of the Test series. Ravindra Jadeja too is nursing his knee injury still and is not available for selection. Navdeep Saini and Saurabh Kumar have been named as replacements with the BCCI selection committee adding Jaydev Unadkat to the Test squad as well.

India Squad

KL Rahul (C), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara (VC), Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (WK), KS Bharat (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat


Shakib Al Hasan and Tamim Iqbal for Bangladesh. Photo- Twitter
Shakib Al Hasan and Tamim Iqbal for Bangladesh. Photo- Twitter

Bangladesh will miss the services of Tamim Iqbal who is ruled out of the series with a groin injury. He did not play in the ODI series as well. Shakib Al Hasan will lead the side in the two-match series. He is coming off an impressive performance in the ODI series and will be confident of his team challenging India in home conditions.

Mominul Haque, Yasir Ali, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Litton Das, and Mushfiqur Rahim are some key batsmen for the team. Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Khaled Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, and Shoriful Islam are some key bowlers for the side.

The side has not won a Test match against India in the last 11 Test matches. They are lagging way behind when it comes to Test cricket and it will be interesting to see how they tackle an Indian side that is not at their full-strength but has players who can turn the match in the favor of their team.

Bangladesh Squad

Shakib Al Hasan (C), Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque, Yasir Ali, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mushfiqur Rahim, Litton Das, Nurul Hasan, Zakir Hasan, Anamul Haque, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Khaled Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Rejaur Rahman Raja

Also Read: IND vs BAN: “They Are Looking At KL Rahul For World Cup. Whether It’s Right Or Wrong, Time Will Tell’- Dinesh Karthik

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

Anshuman Roy

A Hardcore Cricket Enthusiast Having Previously Worked With Cricwizz, Circle of Cricket, Times Now, The Quint, Cricfit and Now With Cricket Addictor.