Twitter Reacts As Virat Kohli Smashes His 72nd International Century

Former Indian captain Virat Kohli scored a century off 85 balls against Bangladesh in the third and final ODI of the three-match series at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram, on Saturday.

The Men in Blue suffered back-to-back losses in their first two games. This is India’s second consecutive ODI series defeat on Bangladeshi soil. Earlier in 2015, the Bangla Tigers defeated the Men in Blue 2-1 in the ODI series.

Virat Kohli came to the crease with just 15 runs on the board in the fifth over of the match as Shikhar Dhawan, who continued his bad form, was dismissed by Mehdi Hasan for 3 runs.

Bangladesh skipper Liton Das dropped a simple catch when Virat Kohli was at 1, and since then the 34-year-old didn’t look back and capitalized on it to bring up his 72nd international century.

IPL 2023 Auction | IND vs BAN 2022 | India vs Bangladesh 2022 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs SL 2023 | India vs Sri Lanka 2023 | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli (Image Credits: SonyLiv/Twitter)

Earlier, Bangladesh skipper Litton Das won the toss and chose to bowl first. Ishan Kishan and Kuldeep Yadav replaced Rohit Sharma and Deepak Chahar as the Men in Blue made two changes. Regular India captain Rohit Sharma has been ruled out of the last game due to a thumb injury, and KL Rahul has taken over as captain.

Virat Kohli Smashed 44th One-Day International Century

Virat Kohli completed his 44th One-Day International century with a six off the bowling of Ebadot Hossain in the 39th over of India’s innings. After breaking the long-standing century drought in international cricket three months ago, former India captain Virat Kohli took the monkey off his back in the one-day internationals by smashing his first century in the 50-over format in 25 innings, over 1214 days.

Ishan Kishan Virat Kohli
Ishan Kishan Virat Kohli. Image Credits: Twitter

Kohli’s century came shortly after Ishan Kishan’s blazing 210-run knock, which made the youngster the fourth Indian batter to score a double century and the fastest batter to reach a 200-run mark in ODI innings. The second-wicket partnership put on an incredible 290-run stand for India. The right-handed batter reached the three-figure mark with 11 boundaries and one six in 85 balls. His last ODI century came in 2019 when India toured the West Indies following the ODI World Cup.

Watch the best Tweets here:

Playing XI

India: Shikhar Dhawan, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul(w/c), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik

Bangladesh: Anamul Haque, Litton Das(c), Shakib Al Hasan, Yasir Ali, Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Mahmudullah, Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Ebadot Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed

Also read: Australian Test Opener David Warner Unaware Of His Manager’s Wild Accusations Against Senior Cricket Officials

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah