India team, Indian Cricket Team
India team (Credits: Getty)

Last Update on: June 28th, 2022 at 02:03 pm

Prev1 of 11

India vs Ireland, India Playing XI vs Ireland, 2nd T20I (Predicted)- IND vs IRE 2nd T20I. Ireland is all geared up to tie the 2-match T20I series against India at The Village, Dublin on 28th June from 9:00 pm. India won the first T20I by 7 wickets and 16 balls in hand. Due to the rain interruption, the 1st T20I was reduced to 12 overs for each side. India won the toss and they elected to field first in the 1st T20I. Things went according to the plan as Ireland lost their first two wickets for 6.

However, a superb knock from Harry Tector moved Ireland’s scorecard to 108 for the loss of 4 wickets. Indian openers started the innings aggressively. It was the 3rd over when they lost back-to-back wickets. But skipper Hardik Pandya and Deepak Hooda dominated the Irish bowling attack to chase the target in just 9.2 overs.

With the victory, India now has won all 4 T20Is against Ireland. They are on the verge of being unbeaten in the T20I series for the fifth time. They have won 9 out of 11 T20Is played this year. On the other hand, Ireland has 5 victories and 4 losses in 9 T20Is played this year. It was clearly seen in the 1st T20I that the Ireland team lacks the resistance to fight against the top Test-playing nations. But a 12-over game doesn’t judge your overall performance.

Hardik Pandya is on the verge of winning a T20I series on his debut as a captain. India tried Deepak Hooda and Ishan Kishan pair as openers. The plan worked in favour of India as Ishan Kishan scored 26 runs off 11 deliveries with 3 fours and 2 sixes. Deepak Hooda then capitalized on the opportunity to score 47 runs in 29 deliveries. Ishan Kishan’s strike rate is 156.75 in the last 6 T20Is.

Ruturaj Gaikwad
Ruturaj Gaikwad. (Photo: BCCI)

This means Ruturaj Gaikwad, who had a calf niggle, will have a role to bat in the middle order. Suryakumar Yadav’s return didn’t go well for him as he got out on a first-ball duck. But his strike rate in T20Is is above 160. So, there is no problem with having an off-game.

Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, and Ruturaj Gaikwad, if fit will bat in the middle order. Hardik Pandya promoted himself to number 4 to score 24 runs with 3 gigantic sixes at a strike rate of 200. Dinesh Karthik and Ruturaj Gaikwad might see their places swapped if it comes to that stage for India. Axar Patel can also be the option for India in the middle order.

Hardik Pandya
Hardik Pandya. (Photo: Twitter)

Bhuvneshwar Kumar will lead the bowling attack with Avesh Khan and Umran Malik. Bhuvneshwar Kumar took 1 wicket for 16 in 3 overs that included one maiden over. Avesh Khan once again went for over 10 runs. So did the debutant express pacer Umran Malik.

Though Umran Malik clocked 148 KMPH he went for 2 boundaries and a six against Harry Tector. He will still get his chances in the second game. On not so spin-friendly track, MOM Yuzvendra Chahal gave just 11 runs in 3 overs and took a wicket. With world cup preparations on the line, he will continue to be in playing 11 over Ravi Bishnoi.

In the absence of Ruturaj Gaikwad, India are very much likely to hand over the T20I debut cap to Rahul Tripathi as Ishan Kishan’s opening partner for the second and final T20I match. It will be interesting to see whether the visitors will play Sanju Samson in the playing 11 or not.

India vs Ireland, India Playing XI vs Ireland, 2nd T20I (Predicted)- IND vs IRE 2nd T20I

Rahul Tripathi

Rahul Tripathi (Image Credits: Twitter)
Rahul Tripathi (Image Credits: Twitter)

Batting at a strike rate of 158.33, the right-handed batter Rahul Tripathi had accumulated 413 runs from 14 matches in this edition of the IPL 2022 for Sunrisers Hyderabad. He had scored 397 in 17 matches in 2021 and was a key player for his former franchise Kolkata Knight Riders.

Rahul Tripathi has finally gotten his first India call-up for Ireland T20Is after a successful IPL 2022 season for Sunrisers Hyderabad. There were a lot of backlashes after he was not considered for the 5-match T20 series against South Africa.

Prev1 of 11