India vs New Zealand
India vs New Zealand. Credits: ICC

Last Update on: November 18th, 2022 at 09:32 am

IND vs NZ: Head To Head Records, India Tour Of New Zealand 2022, 1st T20I.  India will lock horns with New Zealand in the first T20 on Friday (November 18). Both teams lost in the semi-finals of the T20 World Cup 2022 and would be keen to prove a point.

After a forgettable T20 World Cup 2022 campaign, the semi-finalists, India and New Zealand will face off against each other in a 3-match limited-overs series. The series starts with the first of the 3 T20Is and will be played in Sky Stadium, Wellington. Top stars from both teams will miss out on this series. India will be led by Hardik Pandya and will be coached by VVS Laxman.

India will begin a new era in T20 cricket under Hardik Pandya’s leadership. The Men in Blue won’t be having a new-look team, while New Zealand will be without Martin Guptill and Trent Boult.

Trent Boult and Martin Guptill.
Trent Boult and Martin Guptill. Credits: ICC

The series against a quality New Zealand outfit will test Hardik Pandya’s leadership. It will also give a few youngsters an opportunity to show they belong at the top level. Players like Sanju Samson, Shubman Gill, Washington Sundar, and Kuldeep Yadav, who were waiting in the wings have a great chance to show their class.

Hardik Pandya
Hardik Pandya. Pic Credits: Twitter

Umran Malik is back, and it will be interesting to see the speed and control at which he bowls at. For New Zealand, it will be about doing well at home. NZC board have placed a bet on youngster Finn Allen, and it would be interesting to see how he manages to cope with high expectations.

SRH Ex-Captain Kane Williamson
SRH Ex-Captain Kane Williamson (Photo: IPL)

Skipper Kane Williamson will also be keen to prove himself after the snub by Sunrisers Hyderabad before IPL 2023 mini auctions for having a poor IPL 2022.

With Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, and Rohit Sharma being rested, India may open with Shubman Gill and Ishan Kishan for this NZ series. Shreyas Iyer or Deepak Hooda may play at number three with Suryakumar Yadav and Hardik Pandya to follow. The toss-up for the last batter will be between Rishabh Pant and Sanju Samson.

Washington Sundar
Washington Sundar (Image Credit: Twitter)

Rishabh Pant being the vice-captain is expected to get the edge. With Ravichandran Ashwin being left out, Yuzvendra Chahal will start as the main spinner, with Washington Sundar playing the role of a spin-bowling all-rounder. India may rest Bhuvneshwar Kumar. The likes of Harshal Patel and Mohammed Siraj may get the nod for the 1st T20I.

India Probable Playing XI:- Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), Washington Sundar, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal

Adam Milne
Adam Milne. Image: Twitter/@ddsportschannel

Adam Milne may replace Trent Boult in New Zealand’s playing XI. Finn Allen’s retention at the top of the order for both ODI and T20I squads means there’s no room for Martin Guptill. Trent Boult is the other notable omission from the squads – with Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, Blair Tickner, and Adam Milne filling the pace bowling ranks in T20Is.

New Zealand Probable Playing XI:- Finn Allen,  Devon Conway (wk), Kane Williamson (c), Glenn Phillips, Daryll Mitchell, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi,  Lockie Ferguson

India’s T20I Squad: Hardik Pandya (C), Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson(wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik.

New Zealand’s T20I Squad: Kane Williamson (C), Michael Bracewell, Daryl Mitchell, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Finn Allen (wk), Devon Conway (wk), Glenn Phillips(wk), Lockie Ferguson, Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Blair Tickner.

IND vs NZ: Head To Head Records, India Tour Of New Zealand 2022, 1st T20I

Of the 21 T20 matches played between these two nations, both teams have won an equal number of matches-9 with two matches being tied and one match was abandoned. India have won both tied games and are leading 11-9 against the Kiwis in T20Is.

Colin Munro
Colin Munro (Image Credit: Twitter)

Rohit Sharma has scored the most 511 runs followed by Colin Munro-426 and Martin Guptill -380. Colin Munro is the only batter to score a ton-109*.

Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi
Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi Image Source: Twitter

Ish Sodhi of New Zealand has picked the most scalps-20 followed by Mitchell Santner-16 and Tim Southee -15. Mitchell Santner’s 4/11 is the best bowling figure.