KL Rahul
KL Rahul. (Photo: Twitter)

KL Rahul-led India National Cricket Team have been fined 40 per cent of their match fee for maintaining a slow over-rate against Temba Bavuma-led South Africa National Cricket Team in the third and final ODI at the Newlands, Cape Town.

India lost the three-match One Day International series against South Africa by 0-3. India lost the first match by 31 runs, the second match by 7 wickets, and the third and final match by 4 runs.

IPL 2022 Auction | IPL 2022 Teams | IPL News and Updates | IPL  2022 Schedule | ICC Teams  Rankings | ICC Players Rankings

Virat Kohli
Image Source: Twitter

In the third match, losing the toss and batting first, South Africa were off to a poor start as star performers Janneman Malan and Temba Bavuma got out in the powerplay itself. However, Quinton de Kock and Rassie van der Dussen had an amazing 144 runs partnership that helped the Proteas team post 287 runs on the board.

Deepak Chahar
Deepak Chahar (Image Credit: Twitter)

Chasing the target of 288 runs opener KL Rahul was dismissed in the 5th over by pacer Lungi Ngidi. Shikhar Dhawan and Virat Kohli then provided the stability to the innings by adding 98 runs together.

Besides, Middle-order batters Pant (0), Shreyas Iyer (26) and Suryakumar Yadav (39) failed to play big knocks and in the end, Deepak Chahar played an exceptional knock of 54 runs but was unable to help India win the match.

KL Rahul’s India was ruled to be two overs short of the target – ICC

KL Rahul
KL Rahul

In an official statement released by the International Cricket Council, it was stated that the KL Rahul-led side were two overs short of the target after considering time allowances.

Andy Pycroft of the Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees imposed the sanction after KL Rahul’s side was ruled to be two overs short of the target after time allowances were taken into consideration.”

“In accordance with Article 2.22 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel, which relates to minimum over-rate offences, players are fined 20 per cent of their match fee for every over their side fails to bowl in the allotted time,” ICC said in a release on Monday.

“Rahul pleaded guilty to the offence and accepted the proposed sanction, so there was no need for a formal hearing. On-field umpires Marais Erasmus and Bongani Jele, third umpire Allauhudien Palekar and fourth umpire Adrien Holdstock leveled the charge.”

Also Read: IND vs SA: Deepak Chahar Is A Better Option Than Bhuvneshwar Kumar: Sanjay Manjrekar

Get All Cricket match prediction and fantasy Tips – CLICK HERE

Cricket Match Prediction | T20 World Cup Match Prediction | Today Match Fantasy Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket News and Updates | Cricket Live Score