CVC Capitals
CVC Capitals

IPL Governing Council (GC) will decide the future of CVC Sports on December 3 (Friday) in a meeting in Kolkata.

After complaints against CVC Capital’s involvement with betting companies were issued to the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), the Indian board decided to investigate the matter.

IPL Governing Council To Decide on CVC’s future with Ahmedabad franchise

According to a report by Outlook, CVC Capital Partners, who were awarded the Ahmedabad franchise, has run into trouble for its links with betting companies.

IPL Governing Council To Decide On CVC Capitals On December 3
Brijesh Patel. (Credits: Twitter)

CVC Capitals, who bought the Ahmedabad franchise for INR 5600 crore last month, are eager to finalize the backroom staff including Ravi Shastri, whose tenure with the Indian team ended after the T20 World Cup.

The meeting of GC is just a day before the BCCI’s annual general meeting (AGM), where a new GC will be constituted.

Brijesh Patel, Kairul Jamal Majumdar to be re-electee in IPL Governing Council

According to a report by Cricbuzz, Brijesh Patel of Karnataka and Khairul Jamal Majumdar from North East will be re-elected to the Governing Council the next day and the former’s term as the chairman of the IPL is all set to be extended by another year.

Pragyan Ojha
Pragyan Ojha. Image Credits: Twitter

The seven-member of GC consists of two office-bearers (secretary and treasurer – Jay Shah and Arun Singh Dhumal), CEO (Hemang Amin), one representative from Players’ Association (Pragyan Ojha), a nominee of the CAG (CM Sane) and two members elected by the AGM (Brijesh and Majumdar).

IPL 2022 retention list by eight old franchises is to be submitted on  November 30 (Tuesday).

According to an Indian Express report, four-time IPL champions CSK has retained MS Dhoni along with all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja and young opener Ruturaj Gaikwad.

The Chennai outfit is also in talks with England all-rounder Moeen Ali as their fourth retention player.

Delhi Capitals, who finished on top of the IPL 2021 points table, have decided to retain Rishabh Pant, who led them in the last season.

Apart from Pant, Delhi Capitals have also retained all-rounder Axar Patel, opener Prithvi Shaw and South African pacer Anrich Nortje.

Kolkata Knight Riders are likely to retain its senior players Sunil Narine and Andre Russell and will decide between Venkatesh Iyer and Shubman Gill.

Five-time IPL champions Mumbai Indians have retained skipper Rohit Sharma and pace bowler Jasprit Bumrah. The franchise is also chasing their star all-rounder Kieron Pollard and Ishan Kishan.

Also Read: IPL 2022 Auction: 3 Teams Which Can Target Shardul Thakur