Chennai Super Kings CSK
Chennai Super Kings (Image Credit: Twitter)

Last Update on: April 5th, 2021 at 04:51 pm

Prev1 of 3

IPL 2021 is all set to entertain Indian cricket fans from April 9, 2021. In the first match, Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore will face off each other at MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. 8 teams will play a total of 60 matches during IPL 2021. The tournament will be played at 6 venues across the country and conclude with the final match on May 30, 2021.

Back in IPL 2011, Chennai Super Kings made the record of winning two consecutive IPL trophies. Chennai Super Kings had won the IPL final in 2010 and they again won the title in IPL 2011. This record was achieved by Mumbai Indians in IPL 2020. In IPL 2011, there were some thrilling matches that enthralled fans to a great level. Here we take a look at the 3 most exciting matches of IPL 2011.

IPL History: 3 Most Exciting Matches Of IPL 2011

Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders (MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai)

Tim Southee
Tim Southee (Image Credit: AFP)

The first match of IPL 2011 was a thrilling one as Chennai Super Kings won the match by just 2 runs. Chennai Super Kings batted first in the match and scored 153-4 in 20 overs. Srikkanth Anirudha scored fifty (64) while Suresh Raina scored 33 runs.

While chasing the target, KKR’s Jacques Kallis scored a fifty (54) while batting as an opener. In the last over, Kolkata Knight Riders needed 9 runs to win. However, CSK bowler Tim Southee bowled extremely well and gave away just 6 runs. On the final ball, Kolkata Knight Riders needed a boundary to win. However, Tim Southee bowled a deadly yorker and KKR could manage only 1 run. Chennai Super Kings won the match by 2 runs in an exciting last over.

Prev1 of 3

Vikas Singh Derek

Cricket Crazy and Sports Enthusiast. Happy Go Lucky Person. Believes "The Way To Happiness is to be Happy On The Way.